Beginner: LR/PS or Darkroom/GIMP

Edit My Images
No
Hi

I'm a beginner and have little to no knowledge of any post processing or image editing. I've done some research and concluded my options are:

1. Adobe Lightroom / Photoshop which costs £9.98 a month. The arguments for this seem to be that it is the industry standard and reasonably slick. But it's incredibly expensive (£1200 over ten years for some software...).

2. Darktable (I'm aware there are other RAW editors too) / GIMP: The arguments for this is that these are free and can do just about everything adobe software can do. But they may not be quite as slick?

There seem to be a ton of video tutorials online for how to use all of the above.

As a beginner, having something that is easy to use is important. But given I've never used any of these, is the learning curve for Darktable/GIMP really that much higher than for Photoshop? And once I've gone up the learning curve and invested the time, is it genuinely the case that the functionality (or at least the functionality that I'd need to use) is the same? Or am I really missing out if I don't use lightroom etc.

What I don't want to do is invest a ton of time learning to use Darktable and then find I've got to then learn Lightroom!

Thanks for advice

I found Lightroom pretty simple to use and learn, although with anything there is an unlearning / relearning phase. I remember this when switching from Paint Shop Pro to Photoshop.

So, if cost is a concern, try the free ones and go through a number of the tutorials.

Alternatively, for about the cost of one Starbucks coffee a week, you have the latest version of the top imaging editing system on your desktop,