Bird ID no pic

Name
Stu
Edit My Images
Yes
Help please guys,my lady saw an unusual bird today in the garden,I can't place it from her description,so thought you good folks might be able to help.

Size between spadger and blackbird

Colour :chocolate brown upper shaz desribes the lower half as being almost like the bird had been dipped in blue black ink. white rump. Cream/ yellow wing bars greyish head not cap sort of mottled grey through brown. yellow or white...ish tip to the tail that had a notch sort of an inverted V at the tip

beak insectivore made a noise a bit like a LO chatter,the noise was very distinct and drew her attention as she thought it was a LO ..little owl
Shes not bad on bird ID guys,gets names mixed up a bit but I can normally work out what she has seen. this time I am utterly stumped. i'm no expert myself but have a fair knowledge She's convinced it is something she has never seen before,any thoughts or leads chaps I can then play google until a result comes

Cheers for any thoughts i'd love to know what it is,we have a cracking list I suppose for a garden,although I don't actually keep any form of list it would be nice to add something

many thanks

Stu

Hi Stu..juv little owls will be moving on now from breeding grounds ,but even at two month old they will be the size of a adult bird so easy recognisable...Cant help anymore on your ID

there will be allot of funny birds in the garden at moment, some are in-between moults, so plumage wont look like birds in books, so a bit hard to say what it is?
you say between sparrow and blackbird thats not narrowing it down much, thats probable more than half the British birds, then you say little owl? which is much
bigger than blackbird, so i don't think you will get much help sorry.