Critique Bird photo (in to the frying Pan)

Hi Shaun

I'm not an expert by any means on birds / wildlife, but of the 3, I prefer the no crop version. To me it looks a better composition, shows the subject in it's natural surroundings and also lends to the image / story...

Thanks Andyred,

Just looking at the Exif F2.8 ahhhh so used to shooting Rugby that needs up in next time :)

Hi Shaun,

I don't think 2.8 is an issue. Shoot at that if you can get away with it like you did here. I don't see any of the subject OOF.

Here we go with personal preference...I prefer #2. #1 has that orange/red blob on the right and the levitating tree top left. Also the composition is too central for me. #3 is too cropped and feels a bit cramped. For me, #2 fixes all of these and you can still see the Egret is nest building.

Well done with controlling the exposure (unless you shot raw and fixed it later as I would have done!). Dappled bright sunshine on a white object is tricky to say the least!

Happy snapping,

Gary

Morning Shaun

I may be stating the obvious ..... if I am, please excuse me

The main subject of the image is a largish white bird, a Little Egret - it must have been a sunny day looking at your settings

The first task is to look at how to get as much detail out of the bird as possible by controlling the whites in camera or adjusting them in pp - it is very difficult as whites on Egrets can be stunning - and it takes quite a bit of practice to do them justice
People will look at this image on a variety of different screens ...... from a phone to a 5k Retina, some calibrated, some not......... they will maybe see the bird in different "lights" ..... so it is a difficult task

Looking at the image on my Laptop you look to have done a good job with the whites, but maybe they could be improved.......... but don't make them "muddy"