Birds of Prey

Name
Alison
Edit My Images
No
Went to the International Centre of Birds of Prey at Newent yesterday. First visit there, was a good day out.

I'm still really new to birding and, my IDing skills aren't great (nor my memory) so if you guys could help me out with IDing some of the birds I'd be grateful.

These were taken with a Nikon D7000 + 300mm f4. Some used a teleconverter (TC-14e) .

1. I believe this is a Harris Hawk?
f/4, ISO-800, 1/2000 sec
17245326586_ffd1fff003_c.jpg

2. Indian Eagle Owl - Sadly light was dropping by this time so had to up ISO hense the noise :/
f5.6, ISO-1600 and 1/1600 with TC
17085466549_95913342e3_c.jpg

3. f/4, ISO-500, 1/1600.

17089800509_81783c69eb_c.jpg

4. F/9, 1/1000 sec, ISO-500.
DSC_4616.jpg

5. f/9, 1/1000sec, iso-500
DSC_4588.jpg

No 1 - I really like this capture with the feet out, the bill looks really heavy for a Harris Hawk, but it might be the angle.

I think the first is a White Tailed Sea Eagle - I cant see list of their birds on the website.

Thanks both for the help. The bill is quite big so I think you are right Alan.

I was hoping for a list on their site. I'm now kicking myself for not photographing the list of birds on display. My fault for presuming there would be a list of birds on their site. Maybe I'll tweet it at them and hope they let me know.

Does anyone know what number is 4 by any chance?

I forgot about Zootierliste which is a good resource for zoos and birdie places.
3, 4 & 5 all look the same to me and look as much like a buzzard as anything else, but it's not on the list, although it might be a Black Kite, but I'm just guessing ;)

You might also have got better response putting this in the 'captive' section

Last edited:
1. I believe this is a Harris Hawk?

f/4, ISO-800, 1/2000 sec
17245326586_ffd1fff003_c.jpg