Beginner Brighton Pier - long exposure, late evening

Name
Tom
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,
This is my..... third attempt here with photo-set - so... here it is. Big thanks for everyone who told me especially Andy - who writes very clear instructions. Also I am very happy because I met very kind chap (who also was making photos with his Fuji) who explained me - that not always expensive gear is good :p (I am sending from here greetings to him :D). What else I can say. Photo made at around 9-10 pm.
Please do not hesitate to write critics about this photo - it is my first attempt with this kind of set-up , so I will be very grateful for any clues :D

Brighton Pier - Late Evening
by Tom Stoff, on Flickr

Brighton Pier Part 2
by Tom Stoff, on Flickr

Last edited:
The first one for me Tom, it just has a whole raft of elements that the second one doesn't. I'm thinking of the sign lights, the warmth of the colour in the beach pebbles, the curved whiteness of the breaking waves and the reflected colours in the smooth water. Good stuff!

Technically both are spot on. There is nothing beginner about these. I prefer two, the colours seem more natural and the cool blue tones of the dusky sky work well. Good job on not leaving it too late, theres plenty of ambient light about rendering all the detail you need. I bet the 1st one was taken later on, and the fall in ambient light means the pier detail is harder to resolve.

Both are very nice, and not at all beginner like Steve said. Hard for me to pick a favourite, but I do like 2 a touch more as it's a very simple yet effective composition, and I like the fact the lamps in the 'Brighton Pier' sign take are very much at the forefront of the shot.

No. 1 for me, but I do like the way you captured the Union Jacks fully "open" on both shots. A stiller day and this feature would be missing and yet is a significant feature of the capture.