Car Insurance - Named Driver ?

Name
Stuart
Edit My Images
Yes
Does anyone know the answer please...

I am a named driver on my Fathers insurance policy, if he has a temp medical condition which has to be notified to the DVLA and they stop him driving for a period of time, am I still able to drive his car ?

Thanks

Stu

Stu, I think the only safe way to find out is ring them up.
Different company's have different rules ,so double check with them and if they say it is OK,ask them to confirm this in writing.
There might be a fee for this ,but it is the only way to cover you're back in case of a claim.:shrug:

Haha, beat me to it.

Stuart,

As above - though if he continues to own the car and is the registered keeper (i.e. a temp DVLA ban) he still legally has to insure it, if on a road etc. Either way you'll have to notify the ins co of the changes, him being DVLA restricted etc.

Things could get awkward if say you're 18 and will effectively become the main driver.

As above, really the only way to be 100% is to contact the insurers and ask them.

Much better to be def sure than presume you should be okay and something happens and you find out you're not !

Either way, hope your dads better soon

Last edited:
Thanks all, I tried calling the DVLA this afternoon to confirm his condition does mean he can't drive till after an op, but they are closed till the New Year. I want the answer from them before asking the insurance company.

Lynton, 18, I wish, thats a long time ago...:LOL:

I cannot see any reason why you cannot continue to drive his car, as long as the policy remains valid you are named as covered on it.

my mother and partner were in similar circumstances, mum couldnt drive for a year recovering from an illness, her insurance swapped the drivers so she was named and partner the main driver. hope that helps