Creative Faking!

Name
Neil
Edit My Images
No
I tend to keep my processing in ACR for landscapes, but I have worked with photoshop in my job for a number of years so thought I'd try using it for creating a surreal landscape composite. I'm no photoshop expert, but I know enough to help me get around the program! I chose an old image I was never going to use, to see if it was possible to save using other catalogue shots I had to create something more appealing.

Here is the original image, flat boring and visually unappealing.

23238148711_6f3618ac86_b.jpg

After a few ACR adjustments:

23238150881_f97d0c7d20_b.jpg

Chosen Sky:

23024940980_f96b9a776c_b.jpg

Blended Sky:
I have blended the sky using layer masks using various sized brushes, the challenge was to blend this sky with the prominently blue foreground. To achieve this I have painted in some of the sky colours on an overlay layer, then desaturated the sky.

23320720345_5d80b18d18_b.jpg

Final image
For the final image I added a starburst for the sun and a few gulls, yes thats OTT but was intended to be this way with an almost surreal look. I then flattened the image and added some noise which helps to pull composite together.

Good ideas, I preferred the sun in the first of your composits, looked more realistic to my eye.

Very nicely done, and great to see your workflow too, not often you get to see how images like this are put together

Although i'm still not quite sure how you blended in the sky when you mention about "having painted in some of the sky colours on an overlay layer, then desaturated the sky", any chance of expanding on this as i have always struggled in the past making a sky look more natural when trying this kind of thing