Beginner Cross-lit portrait

Edit My Images
Yes
Hello, this is my first time sharing my photos here and I'm quite nervous! I'm a hobbyist just getting back into shooting after many years of letting other things in life get in the way.

This is lit with off camera flashes in two softboxes, I can't even tell you how I managed to get both flashes to fire. Shot in my home studio, very quickly, before my five year old got fed up.

I would love to know what you think.

13230138_10154270620764175_9129070066409145434_n.jpg 13221691_10154270620409175_5284789720919235545_n.jpg 13177199_10154270620099175_6899037855578776543_n.jpg

Hi

I am no expert and still learning ocf. I do like the first two, nice lighting and composition. Not sure if it is my phone but both may need a bit more exposure added.

Hi

I am no expert and still learning ocf. I do like the first two, nice lighting and composition. Not sure if it is my phone but both may need a bit more exposure added.

Thanks Sep. Do you mean they appear under exposed to you?

Arrrr, she's a real beauty! Well done on your lighting. Exposure doesn't actually look too bad for me, but there are just a couple of things that maybe niggle me a little bit ... but this is only just my opinion bear in mind...Something to think about for next time perhaps...

I think I would have tried to get your main softbox up a little higher and brought in a little closer... you can tell from the catchlight that it looks like it's on an even par with her, and pulled away at a fair distance. When you have to make yourself a contortionist to get the shot around your softbox, it's normally in the right position. :) I normally have to photoshop a bit of mine out... Bring it in nice and close and that would soften up those shadows on her forehead from the headpiece too, although with how it sits, I think you'd struggle not to get any at all, but make them less noticeable.