Doe & Calf Deer this morning (ID confirmation requested please too)

Name
Ant
Edit My Images
No
Wow, what a morning. I set out early to catch some Stonechats and other small birds, which was going well and then I heard the ground thump, I thought it was maybe a hare or large rabbit. Much to my amazement it was the calf bounding around and closely followed by the doe. I was so excited as this was not at all expected in this area (South Cumbria, Coastal dunes, beach and some long grasses in between). Luckily I already had my long lens on for the birds so off I went. I know they're not amazing photos, but I'm just happy I got some keepers as all the excitement left my shooting stance less than steady ;). I have no experience but from a little googling I've thought Red Deer, would be good if someone could confirm the ID (y)

DSC00793 by Anthony Andrades, on Flickr

DSC00796 by Anthony Andrades, on Flickr

DSC01087 by Anthony Andrades, on Flickr

DSC01084 by Anthony Andrades, on Flickr

DSC01000-2 by Anthony Andrades, on Flickr

DSC00958 by Anthony Andrades, on Flickr

DSC00811 by Anthony Andrades, on Flickr

DSC00801 by Anthony Andrades, on Flickr

I thinks they are Roe Deer, I usually see them in the south west around Eskdale. I don’t think there are any Red Deer in that area of the Lake District. I’ve heard the Red Deer are up near Haweswater.

Last edited:
Yep Red Deer, very nice encounter :)

[Edit] Rob's local knowledge ^^^ may beat my visual id. :)

Last edited:
Yep Red Deer, very nice encounter :)

[Edit] Rob's local knowledge ^^^ may beat my visual id. :)

Thanks

I thinks they are Roe Deer, I usually see them in the south west around Eskdale. I don’t think there are any Red Deer in that area of the Lake District. I’ve heard the Red Deer are up near Haweswater.

These were in Barrow-In-Furness, believe it or not ;)