Critique Environmental portraits - First time using flash

Name
Tom
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All,

I recently bought myself a speedlight (Yongnuo 560iii) along with a trigger (YN560TX) for off-camera flash. It also came with a small 6x4" square diffuser. I roped a colleague into posing (he's also a photographer so it was less awkward getting him to pose!). We both work in conservation so I wanted to get some environmental-type portraits of him with chainsaw kit 'on location'.

I'm new to the concept of flash and while I've researched the principles, which I've tried to apply here, I know I'm a complete beginner, so any and all critique welcome (camerawork, flash use and PP).

Ben 7 by Tom Pinches, on Flickr

Ben 6 by Tom Pinches, on Flickr

Ben 5 by Tom Pinches, on Flickr

Ben 4 by Tom Pinches, on Flickr

Ben 3 by Tom Pinches, on Flickr

Ben 2 by Tom Pinches, on Flickr

Ben 1 by Tom Pinches, on Flickr

Working in conservation I'm surprised you can afford a flash gun! ;) Joking aside, it's a case of watch the shadows - that visor has repeatedly caused a few across Ben's face and glasses. I can't comment too technically as flash portraiture isn't my thing, but as general photos go I prefer Ben 2 and Ben 6, but that shadow from the visor runs right through his eye in 6 when you look more closely of view larger. However, it sets the saw in context with the surroundings, rather than cutting it in half or hiding most of it, which I think loses some context as a themed shot. Some of the others look a bit over-lit on one side, which I don't find appealing for portraits of this type. Hope this is useful.

I prefer Ben 6 - although his shirt is somewhat under exposed- be a good opportunity to photograph him actually using the Chain saw - might make for a more environmental portrait
doing what he does for a living - just a thought

I have adjusted the under exposure - just for fun :) & to demonstrate my comments

original

AYtvNGR.jpg

Edit

I0O8dva.jpg

Les :)