Fathers day Presents

Name
Shaun
Edit My Images
Yes
My Eldest bought me a New Flash gun :) & my youngest got me a an octagon softbox :) So I had a play today , All shots were in manual mode
we only had an old dark blue blanket that we hang on the wardrobe door for a backdrop :-(

All shots should be cropped to 7x5 and straight out the camera apart from no 5, Be gentle as I'm get used to flash 2 out of 10 for effort :angelic:
1 by Shaun Lafferty, on Flickr

2 by Shaun Lafferty, on Flickr

3 by Shaun Lafferty, on Flickr

4 by Shaun Lafferty, on Flickr

5 by Shaun Lafferty, on Flickr

6 by Shaun Lafferty, on Flickr

Last edited:
Hi

A lovely present to get on Father's Day.

Sorry I am no expert but these are my thoughts. I like the composition and lighting/shadows but I think they are a bit under exposed.

If you shot these in raw and have lightroom you can add a bit more exposure and see what they look like.

Thanks

I shot both Raw & Jpg :) I Put them up without any PP to see if my process is correct / what needs to correcting before having to go down the PP route,

I'm lucky engough to have LR,PS,PPS & DXO

Cool, give it a bit for the experts to comment on before making any changes.

I can still not get it correct in camera. Looks fine on the camera LCD but on the screen they are under exposed. [emoji16]

Would be nice pics if exposed properly.. i would guess two thirds under....

Right I think I know what I'm looking for now and as suggested increased by 2/3 and compared like for like on all 6 and have uploaded on to Flickr as
a 1 & 1b ,2 & 2b ect

https://www.flickr.com/photos/splafferty/sets/72157654452291369

Edit
I used the the new flash in the Octagon at about 30deg Size of the room :) @ 1/6.5 >1/8 power & used
the pop up on 1/128 to trigger the the other.

Last edited:
Just had a look on Flickr at 1b and think it still need a bit more exposure.

For some reason I feel when taking pics of kids you need an extra bit of exposure compared to adults.