Critique Festive still life - comments welcome

Edit My Images
No
I was messing around with a few Christmassy items and thought I'd have a go at a similar image I saw in a magazine. I'm pleased with how it came out as it was my first attempt at this type of picture. But I welcome any comments and critique... Thanks for looking.
760D 50mm f2.2
RebeccaKent.jpeg

Last edited:
I was messing around with a few Christmassy items and thought I'd have a go at a similar image I saw in a magazine. I'm pleased with how it came out as it was my first attempt at this type of picture. But I welcome any comments and critique... Thanks for looking.
760D 50mm f2.2
RebeccaKent.jpeg

Hiya.
Yes I too would have been pleased with this. You captured the mood very well. I am no expert at all. If it was mine I would be trying to get some side lighting across the subjects and maybe a bit sharper with dof. I know it's hard as you want the bokeh.

Well done.

Gaz

As above, what was your camera settings ? All this info helps.

Shot in manual
50mm
F2.2
1/3s
ISO 100

Unfortunately I had a small space to work in. I would have liked a bigger distance between the mug and the tree lights behind so that maybe I could have stopped down a bit from f2.2 and still had a decent bokeh.

Nicely composed arrangement, but a few obervations:
  • The depth of field is far too shallow picking up only the edge of the second mice pie and part of the pine cone
  • The framing is rather tight, more space at the left, right and the bottom would improve the result
  • The foreground subjects seem a little underexposed, a touch of fill light would lift the result without affecting the background and reduce the shadow falling across the front of the arrangement

Thanks Alistair. I agree with what you say. Think the main problem was the lack of space I had to work in. I'll be sure to give it another go with a bit of flash, just to see how it looks.