First attempt at Motorsport - Brands Hatch

Name
Andy
Edit My Images
Yes
I've wanted to try and shoot Motorsport for a while now, so I went to Brands Hatch yesterday to watch the BARC championship. The weather wasn't particularly great with it raining every 5 minutes, and I struggled to find somewhere where my view wouldn't be blocked by a fence :(
I wanted to try some panning shots as I've never done it before, and I only really worked out the technique/settings towards the end of the day, after shooting with too much of a high shutter speed for most of the day. It's a lot more difficult than I thought it would be, but definitely something I want to do more of :)

Anyway these are the best I managed to get, I know they're all a bit similar and there is a wire fence in most of them, but any critique and tips would be appreciated :)

Brands Hatch 29/08
by Andy Bunyan, on Flickr

Brands Hatch 29/08

Brands Hatch 29/08

Brands Hatch 29/08

Brands Hatch 29/08

Brands Hatch 29/08

Good start but a longer lens would have got you closer to the action.

If you go again you can get closer by going to the inside of Druids. There is a bridge just up the hill from where you took these. For paddock hill you can get a few slightly elevated spots over the fence but 200mm plus is best.

:agree: also there are lots of places on the GP circuit that only have waist high fencing if you are going again. The cars are close to you on some corners but you do have to put the legwork in to get variety.

Good start but a longer lens would have got you closer to the action.

If you go again you can get closer by going to the inside of Druids. There is a bridge just up the hill from where you took these. For paddock hill you can get a few slightly elevated spots over the fence but 200mm plus is best.