Beginner First BSB photos from Brands Hatch

Name
Andy
Edit My Images
Yes
Got there a little late and missed the first BSB practise. Weather held off till about 3pm when it started raining.

All taken on my D7200 and 18-300 lens. Have to say, wow there's some big old lens there LOL, definitely some glass envy from me :D.

Don't think I did too bad, took about 900 photos, and 11 have been processed haha. Lots to learn, definitely need a monopod for panning. Lens seems pretty good for what it is.

Critique and advise very welcome :) Excuse the bald head in the first shot, I'm not very good at photoshop and couldn't clean it up.

DSC_0352
by AndyThilo, on Flickr

DSC_0379
by AndyThilo, on Flickr

DSC_0391
by AndyThilo, on Flickr

DSC_0400
by AndyThilo, on Flickr

DSC_0467
by AndyThilo, on Flickr

DSC_0479
by AndyThilo, on Flickr

DSC_0623
by AndyThilo, on Flickr

DSC_0870
by AndyThilo, on Flickr

Last edited:
Sorry screwed up threads, resized the photos but duplicated the last 2 pictures :(. Can the 2nd thread be deleted?

Hi Andy, looks like you had a good day, hope you enjoyed your first visit, you've got a good variety of shots and at least it was dry for the superbikes.
You asked for critique so just my thoughts:
#1 think this shot would work better if you could see more of the rider, difficult when bike is leaning away from you.
#2 good sharpness and exposure but the background is messy and you've chopped off bits of the wheels
#3 I like this, good panning technique, bike is nice and sharp and good background blur. Bike is also nicely positioned in the frame.
The next three also show good technique.
#7 this doesn't really work for me, looks like you've got a bit of camera shake 1/80th is slow for this type of shot, bike is also a bit lost in the frame.
#8 this is another I really like, good panning again and I like the composition.
Hope my comments haven't come across as harsh, there is definitely positives here. Others will have their own opinions.