Beginner First OCF Attempt

Name
Sohail
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello Folks,

Here are a couple of shots taken of my son. It's my first attempt at OCF and would appreciate any comments, tips.

Sorry this is the only way I can upload photos atm. I still have to master Light Room or Photo Shop, so these are pretty much as they were taken.

pic2_zpsqdewdfnd.jpg

pic%201_zpspewh3ywe.jpg

Last edited:
Nothing to comment on Saul :)

Any help how to attach photo's?

Good effort Saul! 2nd one is favourite. I've had mixed results with OCF so these, straight OOC, are a fine start. :)

You did it Saul! Well done mate. You'll soon become addicted. It's a downward slippery slope from here I'm affraid. :D

Re attatching pics, make a Flickr account and upload them there then copy the BBCode into your thread and the images will show.

I did indeed! Thank you very much for all your help and advise. As my first attempt I am quite chuffed and proud of myself. I'm sure there's lots wrong with them.

For some reason the Nissin Flash just wouldn't work on these triggers, so I used an old Yongnuo 468 flash (upgrades are needed).

Re the flickr account, I have one but for some reason the photo's would not show on the thread. Do they have to be of a certain size?

Don't worry about flash upgrades just yet. These are great, but as you start to experiment more you'll end up with proper studio lights (much more versatile).

Flash guns are a great backup, extra light, light where you need portability.

Anyway like I said, this is great classic portrait lighting and you avoided the common pitfall of having the light too low. What modifier did you use?

Was you using the BBCode? The picture should definately show if you were. I usually use the medium 800 size for my pics that i show here.

Phil, how are studio lights more versatile? Having only ever used flash for all my stuff am i missing out on a trick? Ta.