First pics go canny

Name
Ken
Edit My Images
Yes
Here are some of my pics taken between last summer and now. Using Olympus c-450 the only camera i have ever owned so i am a complete newbie. Any advice gratefully recieved.
Ken.

I have just taken a few minutes to look at the larger versions of the pictures and can assure you that you have the eye for a photograph. It is difficult to critique photographs as good as these and point out areas where you could improve when you consider the camera that they have been taken on.

My first comment is about the butterfly, although there is nothing wrong with it as it is and it shows the detail and patterns in the wing, animals and insect pictures are usually more interesting if you can show the face. This would make the picture very different though and may not have been what you had in mind but may be worth a thought should you get the chance to photograph these types of subjects in the future.

My next comment is on the second shot, the horizon is higher on the right than the left, judging from the standard of the others here I am sure that this is actually how it was, however sometimes bending the truth can make for a more pleasing result. As there are no buildings or anything that would look strange not vertical, I would be tempted to rotate the picture slightly to get the Horizon level. Please note that this is my personal choice and for some will not improve the picture.

The snow shot has come out great, correct exposure is quite difficult to achieve in the snow as the camera tends to underexpose the picture due to all the white. This shot however is great.

The forth shot is simple but effective, I am so glad that you framed the building off centre to the left and the horizon off centre and lower than half way up. This is great and complies with the rule of thirds which a lot of new photographers miss.