First time shooting motor sport

Name
Andrew
Edit My Images
No
Hi all, went to Outon Park Friday because i got a new toy which i have never used before infact 2 new toys Nikon D600 and Nikon 70-200 2.8.

Bloody hell this Motorsport photography needs some practice especially panning but my main reason i went to just test the 2 items together to see if i could get some nice sharp shots.
I don't think i have done to bad for a first timer and i know next time i can only get better as i get to learn the camera and setting and pracice some panning.

A few shots below and yyou are more than welcome to slate me :)

1./
2./
3./
4./
5./

Why would we want to slate you? You have gone out to a place you have never shot before to use camera and lens combinations you have never used before on a subject you have never shot before. And yet you come away with four decent shots.

You have picked a hard one too, I always struggle more with single seaters than GTs or Touring Cars, I think its because the lack of bodywork makes them harder for the AF to lock on to. Other than that, drop that shutter speed well below 1/800 to get a bit more wheel and background blurring into the image and try for more of a mix of shots.

How did you like the racing? Formula Jedi is always fairly exciting.

We went there yesterday. We were both trying out the new X-T2, and panning is something new to us as well. Some pics in the X-T1/X-T2 thread. We tried to get shutter sped down to 1/60 and it worked, but not as often as it failed. Took over 2000 shots between us and have only a handful of keepers. Good fun trying though!

Last edited:
We went there yesterday. We were both trying out the new X-T2, and panning is something new to us as well. Some pics in the X-T1/X-T2 thread. We tried to get shutter sped down to 1/60 and it worked, but not as often as it failed. Took over 2000 shots between us and have only a handful of keepers. Good fun trying though!