First try at editing

Name
Tilly
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys
This is an image I posted for this weeks 52's and susiejb suggested I altered some of the levels to try and improve it. I didn't want to go too far with it as I didn't want it to look unnatural but as it's my first try attempt at editing a shot I wasn't sure if I'd done enough or not. The first image is the original and the second is after editing.
Any advice would be appreciated as always :)
Townley Park 10 by Craig Tillotson, on Flickr
Townley Park 10 PP by Craig Tillotson, on Flickr

No idea what it is you changed but I think both images are underexposed as if the camera has exposed on #1 for the foliage but even the foliage seems a bit under. I better say no more as I am clueless on post processing.

EDIT. The foliage looks over exposed not under exposed.

Last edited:
The differences seem more noticeable on Flickr for some reason. Thanks for letting me know you think its underexposed, I've only had my camera for a couple of weeks so I'm still getting used to how it all works

Looks overexposed to me?

OK. I have been to Flickr but I have not way of setting up 2 or 4 images side side by so no further comment on that. What catches my eye is the boy on the left of the picture whose left side and left arm are a bit blown (overexposed). I can't make any useful suggestions as so far my skills are limited to adjusting exposure, showing detail in shadows and that is about it.

So I've had a little play in lightroom mobile (so on my phone).
All I've done is take the exposure down a bit, adjusted the curves (darks and lights), added a very small amount of clarity and adjusted the WB (white balance) to warm it up a smidgen. These are all small adjustments.
I've had to upload this from my phone so the quality is reduced. But I hope you can see the difference. It's not perfect by any means.
LRM_EXPORT_20170925_232953-819x546.jpg

36644710353_a650fc57f0_b.jpg

36644710353_a650fc57f0_b.jpg

My amendments are