Football has as an inherent problem...

Name
Darryl
Edit My Images
No
Apols, I'm being deliberately disingenuous, the problem is mine, and I'd like to pick your brains.

I'm a rugby tog by trade and one thing that remains true with rugby photography, the person scoring has the ball in their hand.

I recently covered a charity football match, from memory it's only the second football match I've covered. Whilst sitting by the corner flag snapping away, one of the substituted players walked passed and casually commented "did you get get my goal?" Yes I said, without hesitation, now looking at the photos, I see I have his splendid striking pose, ball leaving foot, a [Nikon] D3 CH split second later, the ball has left his foot and is in the net, I have the player following through.

So the question is this, how do you capture ball scorer and net?

I have a second body with a 70-200 but I feel, much the same as rugby in this respect - there isn't time to switch for the wider shot.

Any advice? Main lens for rugby is 200-400 - forgot to mention.

Unless you've got a remote out, or are shooting so wide that the players are lost in the frame, the answer is - you don't.

Oh and learn to switch between cameras faster - anticipate the action.

Rugby photographers have it so easy haha

I've only ever seen one decent remote shot with rugby and (with no disrespect to the photographer) it was complete luck. A diving try under the posts at HQ.

It was either @Tobers or @Seba but I can't remember which!

Just did a test in the back garden - this has legs, I'm not sure why I hadn't thought of it before, I mean we used remote cameras at the European Athletic Championships in Birmingham!

90% of the time you have the shot/header and the celebration......let the viewer/reader fill in the gap.

I've only ever seen one decent remote shot with rugby and (with no disrespect to the photographer) it was complete luck. A diving try under the posts at HQ.