Garden Birds.. With Lighting..

Name
Colin
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi Everyone..

Over the last year I have been playing with a little project, unfortunately not up to the standard of species you seem to find. Due to my time constrants, normally in the wet & cold season as I worked as a motorsports tog most of the year. As part of my work I use a lot of Off Camera Flash & tend to shoot everything I do with it... Always find it gives me more dramatic shots with more detail & texture.

So over the last year I have been using the same technique on the birds in my garden & some from my local woods, this year I'm planning to try a similar technique on more of the wilder species.

Please let me know what you think as you are a lot more experienced with birds then me, if anyone needs C&C on flying motorcycles, I'm your man...

Thanks.

Talk100.JPG

Talk101.JPG

Talk102.JPG

Talk103.JPG

Talk104.JPG

I really like number 2, so simple but the bird looks amazing against a totally dark background. The way you've captured this image is stunning.

I really like number 2, so simple but the bird looks amazing against a totally dark background. The way you've captured this image is stunning.

Thanks... The background is my garden, just shot at a high shutter speed cutting out all ambient light, this way the flash is the only light to register.. one of the trickier shots to do.

These are certainly dramatic pictures, I do like the ones were the wings are outstretched showing all the feathers.

Is the set up a single flash off camera with an radio transmitter?, can you give us some more details about settings, etc?

Thanks... The background is my garden, just shot at a high shutter speed cutting out all ambient light, this way the flash is the only light to register.. one of the trickier shots to do.
I like it so much that I going to try it for myself...if it ever stops raining!