Critique Headshot for critique pls.

Name
Michael
Edit My Images
No
DSC05055-Edit-2-3.JPG

As per title really, haven't done a headshot in a while so any pointers much appreciated.

Thanks

Michael

The first thing that struck me was his skin. I don't think I've seen a man with such smooth skin. Saying that " what do I know" I'm no expert. But overall I'd be happy if he was too.

What was the headshot for? What did you want to achieve with it?
Because if you wanted a casual shot, maybe the background is a little too formal. If you wanted formal shot, the clothes may be a little to casual. So, depending on what you want, the image may be perfect or totally wrong.

It was more for practice that anything else. I can easily change the background to something more colourful if that'll add anything?

The first thing that struck me was his skin. I don't think I've seen a man with such smooth skin. Saying that " what do I know" I'm no expert. But overall I'd be happy if he was too.

Unfortunately the model had quite bad skin at the time of shooting so I was necessary for some frequency separation. I've tried to keep it as I think it would be if it was clear, and to be fair to the model he's only 19 so he'd probably have pretty good skin.

It was more for practice that anything else. I can easily change the background to something more colourful if that'll add anything?

From my experience, to practice something you need to know what you want to achieve. :)
For the style of headshots that I do, I'd dismiss this photo just because of the expression on his face. I don't feel a connection with subject. But that's my approach to headshots. I want to create that connection.

For the style of headshots that I do, I'd dismiss this photo just because of the expression on his face. I don't feel a connection with subject. But that's my approach to headshots. I want to create that connection.