Hello

Edit My Images
Yes
Adele's latest album has been blaring out of the stereo since Christmas and I thought I would try to take a portrait of my daughter in the style of the Album cover (which was, as far as I can tell, taken by Alasdair McLellan). I rarely use studio lights so this was a case of trial and error until I got a shot close enough to put through Lightroom and Silver Efex Pro:

1601_Soph_010-Edit-2 by Ian, on Flickr

Though to be honest, I think I prefer this one:

1601_Soph_027 by Ian, on Flickr

Last edited:
No being a portrait photographer I can only say in my naivety the first one is IMHO superb, it is full of intrigue and soft beauty, and I do like the PP treatment, For me its an excellent picture Ian,

Geoff

No being a portrait photographer I can only say in my naivety the first one is IMHO superb, it is full of intrigue and soft beauty, and I do like the PP treatment, For me its an excellent picture Ian,

Geoff

I'm the other way round; the second is superb - beautifully lit and composed. It reminds me of a famous image but I can't remember which one. I'm not a fan of the processing or framing of the first - but then I haven't seen the image you're trying to reproduce.

I'm the other way round; the second is superb - beautifully lit and composed. It reminds me of a famous image but I can't remember which one.

It wasn't at all intentional but it does remind me of the Portrait of Madame X by John Singer Sargent, though she is turned the other way round. I think it is the pointy nose that does it (please don't let my daughter read that bit...)

I quite like the PP - it does in fact resemble the Album cover you spoke of

Here

Les

Thank you. I'll have a wee look through the forum an get a bit of an idea how it all works etc. I just joined this morning an sort of jumped straight in with my photos without realy reading through everything first.

That's the one. If I was better at Photoshop I could have added a "12" next to my daughter