Critique Honister Pass - Opinions needed

Name
Tom
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi All,

Took these images of Honister pass and would like your opinions on them, in particular number 1. I am happy with them, but not at the same time. I would like recommendations for where you may consider improving the processing of these.

Thanks.

1)
DSC_2329-HDR by Thomas Green, on Flickr

2)
DSC_2342-HDR by Thomas Green, on Flickr

3)
DSC_2358-HDR by Thomas Green, on Flickr

Have set to private on flickr at the moment until I complete my final edit.

EDIT: Additional image.

4)
[url=https://flic.kr/p/27MCNyP]DSC_2335-HDR by Thomas Green, on Flickr[/URL]

Last edited:
Number one for me Tom. Not sure why as it's very similar to number two but I prefer it. I definitely think the sun adds to the image. Great stuff.

Id love to have seen shot 1's light in the composition of shot 3! I find the slate scree in the foreground a tad distracting in shot 1 and 2.

As for PP Im no expert I do very little... I try to do what I can in the field. Did you use any filters on camera?

The Sun and hot spots are cool features in #1
but I prefer the WB in #2… very personal.

No crit from me you seem to have a done a very good job with all three of them, for me #1 is the pick for the way the sun lights up the road although I do really like the tones in the sky in #3.

Love the composition on #1 but... I don’t like the sun star, it doesn’t feel right to me, and the top left with the smidge of sky above the mountain top makes the left mountain a bit too squeezed in.

Having said that, I wish my photos look like this. Nice work.

Id love to have seen shot 1's light in the composition of shot 3! I find the slate scree in the foreground a tad distracting in shot 1 and 2.

As for PP Im no expert I do very little... I try to do what I can in the field. Did you use any filters on camera?