How Do You Organise Your Library?

Edit My Images
No
Hi All,

I'm an extreme noob to photography and I've so far been using the Cyberlink PhotoDirector that came ready-installed on my laptop when I purchased it to try to organise the 600+ photos I've taken so far.

Now, unless everyone uses something universal like the Dewey Decimal system my first thought is that, say a professional fashion photographer organises their photo library very differently to a amateur travel photographer. Although my question is variation on "how long is piece of string?", I do wonder if there is a more or less best practice classification system (naming, indexing, classifying etc) that has evolved for digital/media asset management.

How do people organise their folders, albums, collections, tags etc etc? Then there's differentiating between the raw (no pun intended) photos and derivative edited images.

Basically, before I end up with ten times as many photos, is there a system I should be using that is best practice?

Be gentle...

year
-yy-mm-dd description
--edited

using lightrooms colour flags, 1-5 star rating and flagged to sort.
some keywords
Is description restricted to one word? If so how do you decide on that word when any of x words (x = integer) would do?

I use Lightroom which is excellent for asset management. There isn't a best practise I'm aware of. A professional photograher is going to need a significantly different workflow to a hobbyist though.

So for me... Organising my photos on disk is largely irrelevant and as Andrew mentioned, follows the yyy-mm-dd-filmstock-cameratype.tiff convention. All images are stored in folders by camera and then by film stock. It's not that important though as I take the time to keyword everything.

My steps...

1. Copy images from SD card(digital) / scan folder (film) into my "Image Dump" folder which is a holding folder.
2. Curate those images, deleting anything bad, out of focus, blurred due to low shutter, or boring.
3. Sleep on it