Beginner Insect macro post processing brain picking.

GarethB

Likes to peek
Name
I don't even know anymore!
Edit My Images
Yes
Hello folks!:)

I am fairly new to insect macro photography (been doing it for a couple of months now), and I'm enjoying my journey immensely so far.
I've been avidly watching all the recent threads over in the critique boards, and I'm hugely impressed and inspired by the incredible images produced by so many of the talented photographers here!

I am wondering if I may pick some brains as to what post processing techniques you use?

I have seen some amazingly clean images some of which were shot on similar equipment to what I own, with similar settings, so I'm curious what your secrets are!
(Naturally I completely understand if there is anyone who wishes not to divulge their secrets! ;) )

For the record, my primary equipment/software is:

• Canon 7Dmk2 - which I think is very decent apart from the high ISO noise.
  • Sigma 105mm f/2.8 macro - sometimes with extension tubes
  • Canon 70-200mm f/4 L IS - occasionally and with tubes
  • Yongnuo HSS speedlites - occasionally....light dependant
  • Photoshop CS5....quite old but still capable
  • Adobe DNG converter - my software predates my camera, so I cannot import RAWs directly into ACR
  • Adobe Camera Raw (ACR)
  • RawTherapee and DarkTable - occasionally, highly dependent on level of laziness!
  • Nik Collection PS plugins - mostly noise reduction
I have no plan/need to update to CC....if it ain't broke etc..:giggle:

I usually roughly aim for these settings: (all dependant on ambient light etc)

• Shutter speed - usually a minimum 1/320th - most likely higher (factoring for reciprocal rule since I don't have the steadiest of hands)
  • Aperture - usually f/8, but sometimes higher depending on required DoF/background/available light etc.
  • ISO - 800 to 1000
  • Auto WB