Beginner Interested in taking photos of wildlife, as a complete beginner. Where do I start?

Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone,

I don't own a camera (apart from on my phone) and I don't know anything at all about photography.

I'm interested in being able to take clear and close up photos of wildlife (e.g. birds in flight or high up in trees) and also clear photos of my pets in motion, but I have no idea how to get started with this or what equipment I would need.

I'd love to be able to take clear enough photos to learn more about wildlife through my pictures. That's my main goal at the moment, but I imagine that naturally this might develop into an interest in the more technical aspects of photography as I try to learn how to produce better images. I don't want to spend too much money at the moment as I don't even know the basics.

Can anyone recommend any equipment I could use to get started with, or even just specific things I should be looking out for (or avoiding) when trying to choose a camera? And if it would be better to buy second hand or new? I'd also be grateful if anyone could point me in the direction of any other resources I should be using to get started. Please assume zero knowledge in your responses. Thanks :)

Last edited:
What is your budget?

To be honest, I don't even know what kind of price range equipment that could do this would be. Ideally as cheap as possible, but definitely no more than £500.

I'm interested in being able to take clear and close up photos of wildlife (e.g. birds in flight or high up in trees)

definitely no more than £500.

Okat, that could be tough!
Maybe something like a used Nikon D300/D300s body and an early Sigma zoom lens e.g. 50-500 or 150-500 ... you can practice on that but will likely want a better lens in time.

Hi,