JDMCombe

Edit My Images
Yes
So I'm very new to photography. I bought myself a Nikon D3300 and recently got a 35mm prime lens. I mainly wanted a DSLR to take photos of my daughter and to try out some landscape shots. Turns out I'm terrible at landscapes and ok at portraits!

Anyway, another great interest of mine is cars! I went to JDMCombe in Castle Combe last weekend and had a great day. Took some nice shots and did some editing and I'm very please with the outcome.

This is the link to the album https://goo.gl/photos/RuypaVbz8Rdjbds87

Here are some of my favourites! Any helpful tips and criticism welcome :)

I'm not a big fan of Japanese cars, but that first one looks great, both as a car and as a shot. Getting low down really works well.
The problem with photographing cars at these type of events is space: there's not enough space around the cars to get space around it in the shot and there's not enough space to get shots without people in them. A few of the shots would be improved with a little bit of extra space between the car and the edge of the frame. Others could be improved with a shallower depth of field, blurring out the crowds.
Is shot 4 a moving car? If so, you want a slower shutter speed as you pan the camera in order to capture a sense of speed.

Good start otherwise.

Compositionally these are pretty good given how difficult it is to shoot at these events.

One thing I'd watch out for is the processing, some of them are quite aggressively done which has created a few issues and looks unnatural.

#3 and 7 look fairly natural and therefore retain a bit of a 3D look, but for others there are tell-tell signs of some strong highlight recovery (such as grey numberplates and flat colours).

For anyone else interested the first car is an RX7 with an RX3 front end! Beautiful thing. The back end of it is the last picture in the second post.