Jewellery / Light tent

cowasaki

TPer Emeritus
Name
Darren
Edit My Images
Yes
Well I'm not an expert but I have been playing with photographing jewellery for a couple of years. I have only been taking photos for a little bit longer than that so that does not mean much :)

Anyway Mrs_C (Helen) wanted her latest creation photographing so we set up to take the images. I will go through it just to give an idea to others who might be interested. We have two chairs with large flat wide arms and a table in between them that is about 3 inches lower. We set the light tent up on the table between the arms. Now the light tent came with two permanently on lights but to be honest they hurt my eyes, they gave off too much heat and I just didn't like them. So to replace them we have two Nikon flashes (an SB600 & SB800 in this case) which I am firing using CLS. I am also using the built in flash of the D700 set at -0.7EV. The camera is set onto a camera stand (like a mini tripod that came with the tent. The tent came from ebay for £25 including the stand and the two lights.

macrotent001.jpg

With this simple setup I placed a nearby object onto the blue background just as a test (yes I know the DOF wasn't enough for a remote but this was setup for jewellery :)).

remote001.jpg

Well being reasonable happy with the image I placed a sheet of white matt photo paper onto the blue background and took a picture of something a bit smaller.

screw001.jpg

Right now onto the cufflinks.......

macrodemo001.jpg

Ok not totally happy with the angle so created a slope using a plastic tool box and 6 DVD cases which I then placed one sheet of the white paper onto with another sheet stuck to it at and angle and placed far enough back that it curved away and upwards.

macrotent002.jpg

macrotent003.jpg

A bit too much reflection off the shiny item for my liking so placed the diffuser from one of the SB flashes over the built in flash of the camera. Now a bit dark I adjusted the EV to zero.