Kingfisher in flight

Name
Tim
Edit My Images
Yes
Quite new to this still - only 3 sightings so far. While making progress on portraits really struggling with capturing anything decent in flight:

1. Portrait in the rain
Kingfisher_IF-4 by Good Lux Photos, on Flickr

In flight attempts

2. Kingfisher_IF-3 by Good Lux Photos, on Flickr

3. Kingfisher_IF-2 by Good Lux Photos, on Flickr

4. Kingfisher_IF by Good Lux Photos, on Flickr

The perches are a long way from the hide and there's no way to move closer so I'm at maximum length 600mm + 2x extender. I'm finding it very difficult to track as at the distance the kingfisher is not even filling an AF point so it's quite hit and miss obtaining focus. I went for 1/2000th and f8 which keeps ISO reasonable and using back button focus, single AF point and case 2 tracking. Any suggestions for how to improve?

Tim

Good shots in the circumstances.
I have limited experience but suggest that getting decent BIF shots with single point focus will be very difficult.
Not sure what kit you are using but 9 point or 25'point Af might work better. (Nikon settings).

Good shots in the circumstances.
I have limited experience but suggest that getting decent BIF shots with single point focus will be very difficult.
Not sure what kit you are using but 9 point or 25'point Af might work better. (Nikon settings).

Thanks Peter, I'm using a 5dm4 with 600mm f4 plus 2x extender meaning max f8. This limits the available af cross type points to the central region but 9 is possible. I'll give it a try. Was worried it might pick up closer reeds or twigs and the depth of field is only a few cms at that focal length.

I think you did a good job, as you might know BIF shots are the hardest to do in the bird world. For me if the bird is on a perch then I have it on Spot metering, but now for BIF I switch it to Center Weighted on my 70D.

Thanks Dave I'll experiment with this too

You did well considering how far away you were.