Beginner lens numbers / size and abbreviations..(a very basic question)

Name
Paul
Edit My Images
No
hi I'm brand new to the camera world and I was trying to make sense of the abbreviations like stm, or ef use that you see on different lenses.
I was also wondering what the size relates to like 18 -55. Or 100 mm for instance what does it mean..?

I've bought a eos750d with a stm 18 55 lens set.. one of my main interests is marine livestock, and I want to capture close ups of my coral from a reef tank.. could someone try and give me some novice advice on what to look for.
Ideally I'd be at the front of the glass tank focussing around 125 mm to 450 mm min and max..

Thanks

Are you on Ultimate Reef Paul? There's a couple of useful guides there in the Photography sub-forum.