Lighting critique welcomed

What were you trying to achieve?

Top thought from me is that I'd prefer eye contact. It's nice & sharp on the click through and you've got a good squinch going on :) Expression is very neutral though and doesn't engage me much - esp with the lack of eye contact. However if it's a lighting study - none of that matters.

You've filled in most of the shadow & there's no nasty shine, but your eyes are in a bit of shadow that I'd want to deal with somehow. Head tilt perhaps? Lifting the eyebrows maybe? It's a minor point. For me, the lighting is "ok". As in "it's not bad - but it doesn't do much for me". No moody shadows, no drama...
This again rotates back to what you were trying to achieve. Smooth lighting that fills most of the gaps? Success.

As always - please take what you like & leave the rest, and I am not a professional.

Cheers Ian,

Not bothered about how I look to be honest. More about the lighting.

I actually prefer the lighting on this one to when I use 2 large softboxes.

Thanks for replying.

Hi,

I think the light source may have been a little to high as the shadows under the eyes are quite obvious. Slightly lifting the head may help or maybe even pop a reflector under the subject to fill the unwanted shadows even if its subtle.

Also I think its missing catchlights in both eyes.

Love the shirt by the way!!

Last edited:
It's a fine pic.. let's take that as read?

On to the picky stuff.. the lighting looks reasonably natural but it doesn't read quite 'right' - it's not clear which is the key, which is fill and which is accent light.

If the fill light was truly on the camera axis then you could turn it up a little to lift the shadows in the eyes sockets.

Apologies for banging my own trumpet again.. take a look at this if you haven't already:
https://www.talkphotography.co.uk/tutorials/article-1-2-3-lights-for-portraits.127/

I've taken the liberty of 'enhancing' your pic to show what I mean..