macro mode or manual mode

Name
gary
Edit My Images
Yes
Newbie here to macro photography, i mainly shoot birds with my d7200 and 600mm lens, but my older body a d5200 was gathering dust so i decided to use that body for macro and bought the Tamron af 18-200 macro lens. Watching loads of you tube videos i was getting more hooked. Being a wildlife lover it offered new adventures. I went out in the garden and got test shots then remembered i got a Raynox 250 put that on and wow loved it apart from the depth of field. I ordered me a shoeshoe flash, softbox and a set of extension tubes on the way. But on my camera body is a macro mode which i couldn't change the settings so went into manual and got results that way so whats the difference ?
Im shooting in auto iso , what shutter speeds do i use it was 1/1250 - 2000 for my birds in flight but what about insects say a bee on a flower moving around was was thing about rule of thumbs and setting it to 500 being a dx body. So much to cover in my first post any help please guys......thanks in advance.

Newbie here to macro photography, i mainly shoot birds with my d7200 and 600mm lens, but my older body a d5200 was gathering dust so i decided to use that body for macro and bought the Tamron af 18-200 macro lens. Watching loads of you tube videos i was getting more hooked. Being a wildlife lover it offered new adventures. I went out in the garden and got test shots then remembered i got a Raynox 250 put that on and wow loved it

Welcome to the fascinating world of small things. :)

If that is the Tamron 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 XR Di II LD Macro Lens then it isn't what most people would regard as a macro lens, as for most of us a macro lens is a lens that lets you get an image on the sensor which is the same size as the subject. This is known as 1:1 magnification, or 1x magnification. That lens has (it says here) a maximum magnification of 0.27x, which is much less than 1:1.