My Astro Year in Pictures 2017

jfb

Name
John
Edit My Images
Yes
I have been doing these for many years and it's been quite a while since I posted on the forum and I was partly inspired by SWAG72 amazing deep space shots.

As a personal challenge I try to get a different astro shot each month, some months are really easy and there are multiple contenders, others months the sky god is not quite so kind.

All images on my 1Dx shot mainly with a Tamron 15-30 f2.8, Canon 8-15mm fisheye, plus some of the deep space were with the 100-400ii

I was really lucky to get to Queensland in February & March and allowed some shots of the amazing Southern sky

Q1-17.jpg

Q2-17.jpg

Q3-17.jpg

Q4-17.jpg

Let me know if you like them as there were plenty more which did not make the cut :)

One final one, a couple of the Oz contenders...

Spare008.jpg

I really enjoy your dedication and
looking outside the box, John! (y)

Thank you, I have been doing this for far too long. The trick is to try to keep pushing the envelope and moving forward - I will see if I can add some of the other contenders....

This is a set I did at Minions on Bodmin Moor, the rock stacks are known as the Cheesewring, the red light comes from a 700 ft TV mast on a near hill. Always nice to get Andromeda in the shot, these are all single exposures...

Spare.jpg

These are different parts of the area...

Spare013.jpg

A couple more, the one of the left was done for a presentation I gave to the Teignmouth and Dawlish Camera Club, the middle one was used by the Times newspaper and shows the ISS and a couple of meteors...

Spare005.jpg

Impressive images, if you ever fancy some company up on the Moors message me as I'm up there freezing my you know whats off quite often.

Thanks Billy, I was up a couple of weeks back doing the Super Moon thingy. A kind offer, I keep being asked and have about 20 members of various camera clubs who want to join me - so never easy or simple.