Critique My first 4 photos.

Name
chris
Edit My Images
Yes
As some may have read on my other post, I am a complete novice having only used a phone to take a few photos in the past.

So to cut to the chase, these are my first 4 photos ( that weren't too dark or light ) using my cannon 40d which I got a couple of days ago, I have been playing around with settings and trying to learn a few things from google and you tube videos.

But I need your help so I can learn not only what's wrong in a photo but how to put it right, if its not too much trouble, I feel its better to learn by being hands on so here goes.

1 by Christopher Telford, on Flickr

I tried to focus in on her eye ( big thank you to my wife Joanne, who hates her photo taken ) I was trying to make her eye pop don't think I managed it at all, but it is a pleasing photo for me at least. was a spur of the moment shot, just asked her to stay still while she was on the floor, another question, how do I convince her to model for me lol :)

2 by Christopher Telford, on Flickr

little bee on a flower.

3 by Christopher Telford, on Flickr

Tyke

4 by Christopher Telford, on Flickr

Ruby

thanks for looking.
All these were saved in raw and I had to use some free software to convert the image to jpeg so I could upload them.

My plan is to try and get some basics under my belt before looking at things like Photoshop, in the last photo ruby has a little bit of sleep next to her eye that I think would be better if that was gone, so that will be my first edit in the future I think.

Last edited:
Hi Chris. Spotted this post yesterday but deliberately held off in the hope that someone with a bit more savvy would offer you advice. Anyway, if only to motivate others to respond, here are my thoughts for what they're worth.