My first pictures

Name
Barry
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi guys.

My name is Barry and I'm new to the forum. I'm a beginner and other than point and click I know nothing about photography. Absolutely nothing I'm looking forward to what is a long overdue hobby. Just a shame the world cup stayed or I'd be out taking more pics

I took a few pictures when out playing with my son and my dogs. I think they look pretty good but I can't take credit for them as it was all preset programmes on the camera.

What makes a photo great and not just good? Without unnatural photoshopping or anything.

Here's a few pictures. All opinions and tips are welcome. What would have made them better?

Attachments

• 20180714162600_IMG_0116.JPG
    20180714162600_IMG_0116.JPG
    68.4 KB · Views: 57
  • 20180714160102_IMG_0064.JPG
    20180714160102_IMG_0064.JPG
    92.2 KB · Views: 53
  • 20180714162224_IMG_0099.JPG
    20180714162224_IMG_0099.JPG
    82.9 KB · Views: 52
  • 20180714160213_IMG_0071_wm.JPG
    20180714160213_IMG_0071_wm.JPG
    72.3 KB · Views: 53
  • 20180714142758_IMG_0013.JPG
    20180714142758_IMG_0013.JPG
    65.7 KB · Views: 49
I can't take credit for them as it was all preset programmes on the camera.

… and that is the safest way to take pictures!
Your next step is to get away from the program modes and get
to MAKE pictures.

:welcome: to TP, Barry! :cool:

Hi Barry and welcome to the forum.

What makes a photo great and not just good? Without unnatural photoshopping or anything.

A great photo will communicate something to most viewers, connect with them in some way that produces a response that makes their life richer for having viewed the image.