1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. JonathanRyan

    JonathanRyan

    Messages:
    8,308
    Name:
    Jonathan
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Because the knee isn't part of the arm ;)

    He didn't have possession of the ball so he didn't lose possession and hitting it with part of your leg is a kick.
     
    Byker28i likes this.
  2. mex

    mex

    Messages:
    3,227
    Name:
    Nigel
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Yep.
     
  3. Byker28i

    Byker28i

    Messages:
    19,874
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Cheers
     
  4. GTG

    GTG

    Messages:
    1,114
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Only 2 penalties from Wales, amazing discipline. England had 10.
     
  5. StewartR

    StewartR Efrem Zimbalist Jr Advertiser

    Messages:
    10,649
    Name:
    Stewart (duh)
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    For the same reason that it isn't a knock-on when you kick the ball.
     
  6. Uneducated_Rick

    Uneducated_Rick

    Messages:
    2,725
    Name:
    Ricky
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Also no one appeared to think that because it came of Stef Evans' leg it is a kick, not a knock on; Anscombe could have been offside for being in front of the kicker.

    I've not seen an angle of it so I don't know either way (might have been 10 yards onside for all I know), but worrying that that wasn't even a consideration by the officials

    FWIW I thought the it was a try but not surprised it wasn't given
     
  7. keef32

    keef32

    Messages:
    298
    Name:
    Richard
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Well I'm not sure where you are imagining he spat on him?

    Forgetting the fact the Welsh player grabs then English player by the shirt near the neck for whatever reason?

    (Notice the video has been taken down now?)
     
  8. PaulButler

    PaulButler

    Messages:
    3,202
    Name:
    Paul
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Except the ref cannot award a penalty try as a try was scored - he could only have awarded it of no try was scored (even with the new ruling) the relevant law is "If a player would probably have scored a try but for foul play by an opponent, a penalty try is awarded. No conversion is attempted and value of the try is seven points."

    I'm English and I thought it was a try too ...

    Yes it is, but Wales scored a penalty kick from the advantage so the difference would only have been 4 - however no way of knowing how it would have affected the way the two teams played afterwards.

    It couldn't have been worse Chris tbh Scotland were dire against the Weksh - and wasn't, for me the best game of the weekend (even though Engalnd won ;) ) Laidlaw was outstanding I thought.
     
    Dale. likes this.
  9. mex

    mex

    Messages:
    3,227
    Name:
    Nigel
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I wish I had the same 3D vision of the spitting incident as your good self to be able to make an accurate decision for myself.

    Unfortunately my 3D didn't really flash up the shirt grabbing incident either, but I'm not sure if you have ever played the game, but that happens week in-week out and is by and large ignored, unlike Ford's no arm shoulder barge on Rhys Patchell in the first half ( could have and maybe should have been a yellow card).
     
  10. PaulButler

    PaulButler

    Messages:
    3,202
    Name:
    Paul
    Edit My Images:
    No
  11. StewartR

    StewartR Efrem Zimbalist Jr Advertiser

    Messages:
    10,649
    Name:
    Stewart (duh)
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Nah, it wasn't an issue. Anscombe was way behind Evans when the ball went into the corner. That would have been totally obvious to the ref, no need to review it.

    upload_2018-2-12_14-11-7.png
     
  12. keef32

    keef32

    Messages:
    298
    Name:
    Richard
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Don't need 3D to see he's not spitting on him... Suppose the Welsh have to find a villain in Hartley!
     
  13. mex

    mex

    Messages:
    3,227
    Name:
    Nigel
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Not really chum, Hartley does a good job of that for himself without help from anyone, Welsh or otherwise.
     
    Dale. likes this.
  14. Uneducated_Rick

    Uneducated_Rick

    Messages:
    2,725
    Name:
    Ricky
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Fair enough, clear as day, I thought it would have been closer thus warrant looking at but definitely not
     
  15. Marc

    Marc Mucky Rims Staff Member

    Messages:
    41,520
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/rugby-union/43026443
     
    keef32 likes this.
  16. Al1944

    Al1944

    Messages:
    6,475
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Move on chaps - it's history ;)
     
    Mag1cp2x, wibbly and Nod like this.
  17. mark richards

    mark richards

    Messages:
    5,195
    Name:
    mark
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    yep.
     
  18. mex

    mex

    Messages:
    3,227
    Name:
    Nigel
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  19. Al1944

    Al1944

    Messages:
    6,475
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Nothing will change the result, so ..............................
     
  20. MatBin

    MatBin

    Messages:
    3,155
    Name:
    matt
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Exactly, Sh!t happens, live with it, I'm sure England will get a bad decision at some point. Let's not become football pundits over this and drag rugby down to their level.
     
    Nod likes this.
  21. Dale.

    Dale.

    Messages:
    2,253
    Name:
    Dale.
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I'm Welsh and suitably gutted, but I will agree, it's time to move on, especially as there looks like a formal admission has been made that it was the wrong decision by the TMO. OK, so it was, and I agree but the result will stand, no matter what now.

    Lets just look forward the upcoming games. (y)
     
    MatBin likes this.
  22. jamesev

    jamesev

    Messages:
    342
    Name:
    Jamesev
    Edit My Images:
    No
    MatBin, Mag1cp2x and Marc like this.
  23. mex

    mex

    Messages:
    3,227
    Name:
    Nigel
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I agree the TMO is there to look at the video and make a decision, but yet again ( Scotland v Australia, Wales v Italy, England v NZ for example) the referee and TMO have got it terribly wrong, the TMO was flown in from NZ to specifically over see that game so must have been respected, but the fact remains,between himself, the referee and linesman they got it wrong.

    I am not saying ( and AFAIK I have never claimed so) that Wales would have gone on to win, but had that try been awarded then the likelihood is the momentum would have been with Wales, but unfortunately we'll never know. And yes, sh!t happens and its a very bitter pill for me to swallow (not literally LOL) .

    All the best,
    Mr. Angry.
     
  24. jamesev

    jamesev

    Messages:
    342
    Name:
    Jamesev
    Edit My Images:
    No
    So what do the governing body do now or do they just stop at shaming the TMO? Yes they might have pointed out that TMO made an error but how does this help in the long run publicly outing him. It only goes to discredit the TMO process and have the TMOs now have this in the back of their mind rather than focusing on doing their job.
     
  25. Byker28i

    Byker28i

    Messages:
    19,874
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    It's obvious isn't it - they have Mex with the TMO at all Wales games, breathing over his shoulder and with a live feed to the ref. :D

    So thats the whole discussion over then. TMO made an error - official.
     
    keef32 likes this.
  26. mex

    mex

    Messages:
    3,227
    Name:
    Nigel
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    :banana::banana::banana: We'd never lose! :exit:
     
  27. Tringa

    Tringa

    Messages:
    3,235
    Name:
    Dave
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I think we need to keep in mind the TMO is there to give another opinion and while we hope the TMOs will come to the correct conclusion, sometimes, like everyone else, they get it wrong. They are not infallible and this time he made a mistake but there are plenty of times when, without the TMO, a try would not have been awarded when it should have been.

    Dave
     
    jamesev likes this.
  28. jamesev

    jamesev

    Messages:
    342
    Name:
    Jamesev
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Pity this has so much coverage. What would have been good is if they got 100 TMOs who hadn't seen the game and subsequent fall out lined up and asked them to give their decisions to see if there was a unanimous TMO view.
     
  29. StewartR

    StewartR Efrem Zimbalist Jr Advertiser

    Messages:
    10,649
    Name:
    Stewart (duh)
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Or if the TMO had exercised his judgement differently.

    Back to those two "I don't know what counts as a catch any more" touchdowns at the Superbowl. Both times, the replay official could have justified disallowing the touchdown according to a strict reading of the rules. But both were clearly plays which *should* have been touchdowns, and the official used his common sense, or gave the benefit of the doubt to the attacking team, or something. Whatever his reasoning, it was the right decision both times.

    Same here.
     
  30. Byker28i

    Byker28i

    Messages:
    19,874
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    He did, England won against the welsh :D
     
    keef32 likes this.
  31. mark richards

    mark richards

    Messages:
    5,195
    Name:
    mark
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    wonker..
     

Share This Page