New to Birding

Name
Andy
Edit My Images
No
Hi Guys,

I'm new to this form of photography and would like some advice. I shoot the Sony a7r3 and have been looking at the Sony 100-400mm and Sony 200-600mm lens. Would one be beneficial over the over ? I am leaning towards the 200-600mm.

I would be interested to hear your thoughts and the reasons behind them as this is going to be my biggest outlay on any single lens. TIA.

Hi Guys,

I'm new to this form of photography and would like some advice. I shoot the Sony a7r3 and have been looking at the Sony 100-400mm and Sony 200-600mm lens. Would one be beneficial over the over ? I am leaning towards the 200-600mm.

I would be interested to hear your thoughts and the reasons behind them as this is going to be my biggest outlay on any single lens. TIA.

Hi Andy, I have both lenses and to be fair, I find myself leaning always to the Sony FE 200-600mm on my A7riii or a7Riv - the 100-400mm is a fabulous lens just lacks the reach for bird photography - unless you want to spend an additional £500 on a 1.4x Teleconverter??

Happy to answer any question relating to these lenses if required ?

I do use the 100-400mm for larger insects- like this

xmIvIj2.jpg

Personally I would recommend the FE 200-600mm

for images like this- large -ish crop but the 42mp / 61mp are a bonus

DSC07513 Oh this water IS cold by Les Moxon, on Flickr

Les :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Get the 200-600mm.
It's a fantastic lens. If you get it, you'll unlikely wish you'd got the 100-400mm, but if you get the 100-400mm you'll likely at some point wish you'd got the 200-600mm....

I also find I have great success hand holding my 200-600mm, much more than when I had my D7000 and Sigma 150-600mm.....