1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  1. rob-nikon

    rob-nikon

    Messages:
    4,045
    Name:
    Rob
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Currently the D750 is £1600 new, like @Livin The Dream says the D810 replacement is likely to be £3k+. The biggest factor on price is going to be how well the value of the pound fairs, that's been the cause of price increases over the last year. This time last year the d750 was around £1385 UK new ones that at £1590. I honestly can't see a price drop happening the D750 when it's likely to be half the price of the replacement D810. Look at the new d7500 and older D7200 to see what's happened when a new model was introduced, no price drops by the looks of it.
     
    IanC likes this.
  2. IanC

    IanC

    Messages:
    1,091
    Name:
    Ian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Do you use it for Astrophotgraphy? If so, is the 2.4 enough for you?
     
  3. IanC

    IanC

    Messages:
    1,091
    Name:
    Ian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I have a sigma 17-70 and tokina 11-16mm so nothing compatible. Would probably get a cheap 50mm to start off with
     
  4. Graham

    Graham

    Messages:
    4,901
    Name:
    Graham
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I have done but as I don't have a clue and they turned out crap, saying that, there is a guy on my fb that uses it for astro and all seems OK, 15 to 17 secs max though. 2.4 is enough imo unless you have lots more £'s to spend on a 1.4/1.8.
    Don't forget that the 750 handles high iso really well so no problem there.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2017
    IanC likes this.
  5. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    3,272
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Invest in lenses, bodies won't last as long. Unless you really need the extra resolution, what other benefit is there?
     
  6. IanC

    IanC

    Messages:
    1,091
    Name:
    Ian
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    High ISO noise performance is a big benefit
     
  7. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    3,272
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Which the 750 trumps the 810 on.
     
    IanC likes this.
  8. minnnt

    minnnt

    Messages:
    18,422
    Name:
    David
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    The Tokina is useable at 16mm on FF.
     
    IanC and twist like this.
  9. Graham

    Graham

    Messages:
    4,901
    Name:
    Graham
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Heres one I took a short while ago, no idea on the ID of the spider but it has boxing gloves on.
    Was on the bedroom wall, the O/H didnt want it in so after this, off it went out.

    [​IMG]Spider with gloves-3 by Graham, on Flickr
     
  10. twist

    twist

    Messages:
    10,886
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Easy, skinnylonglegsbitybity
     
    minnnt, Graham and snerkler like this.
  11. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,974
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Saw a few insects and spiders I've never seen before today.

    Not sure what this fella is? I'm guessing it was about 12mm in length and about 2mm wide.
    1.
    [​IMG]
    DSC_4614-Edit
    by TDG-77, on Flickr

    2.
    [​IMG]
    DSC_4645-Edit
    by TDG-77, on Flickr


    Not sure what this spider is, but it was smaller than the wolf spiders I've been shooting recently, guessing about 10-12mm in length including the legs.
    3.
    [​IMG]
    DSC_4733-Edit
    by TDG-77, on Flickr

    4.
    [​IMG]
    DSC_4737-Edit
    by TDG-77, on Flickr

    5.
    [​IMG]
    DSC_4738-Edit
    by TDG-77, on Flickr

    6. Another Wolf Spider
    [​IMG]
    DSC_4726-Edit
    by TDG-77, on Flickr

    7.And a Zebra Back Jumping Spider. Jeez these things are small, and move fast.
    [​IMG]
    DSC_4743-Edit
    by TDG-77, on Flickr

    8.
    [​IMG]
    DSC_4744-Edit by TDG-77, on Flickr
     
    markgodley, trevorbray and Ed Sutton like this.
  12. twist

    twist

    Messages:
    10,886
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Beetlebigbum and spikybity
     
  13. trevorbray

    trevorbray

    Messages:
    4,055
    Name:
    Trevor
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Isn't that the Latin names ?
     
    twist likes this.
  14. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,974
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2017
    markgodley likes this.
  15. Graham

    Graham

    Messages:
    4,901
    Name:
    Graham
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Lol nice try but I don't think so
     
  16. twist

    twist

    Messages:
    10,886
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Mate, they don't call me Davie Batenburg for nothing.
     
    Graham likes this.
  17. markgodley

    markgodley

    Messages:
    414
    Name:
    MG
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Graham and snerkler like this.
  18. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,974
    Edit My Images:
    No
  19. markgodley

    markgodley

    Messages:
    414
    Name:
    MG
    Edit My Images:
    No
    @snerkler - yes quite a lot due to the harsh sunlight. Should of shot underexposed really
     
  20. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    3,272
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Meet my parents new fluffy friend - pretty much an exposure nightmare on the hottest day of the year so far ha.

    The second one is at ISO 5000! And the last one is the 58 wide open, I'm loving this lens already. A great combo

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2017
    Graham likes this.
  21. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    3,272
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
    They're nice shots Mark but not everything looks great in mono, I don't think the tonal range is there for them to look great.

    I've been faffing with this one tonight. A shot of my little girl on grandad but still not convinced.

    [​IMG]
     
    markgodley and minnnt like this.
  22. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,974
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Sometimes highlights will clip, it's just the nature of exposure. I used to do what you did and drag the highlights right down but I realised that it gives a very muted looking image. I tend not to change the highlights too much these days (helps to get the exposure right of course ;)) but if there's an area that is causing particularly bad clipping I tend to brush in highlight and/or whites reduction in so not to affect the tonal appearance of the whole image. Of course you have to be subtle with the brushes too.

    Such a cutie. Did you spot meter for these?
     
    markgodley and Livin The Dream like this.
  23. Eloise

    Eloise

    Messages:
    1,060
    Name:
    Eloise
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Great pup... I see he's being taught well to s*** all over the tabloids!
     
    Sir SR and Livin The Dream like this.
  24. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    3,272
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Nah, usual shooting in aperture priority with exp comp to suit. Light was all over the place and he wasn't for posing.

    The second one should have been a little lower in ISO really as still had min shutter at 320 - usually have set at 200 unless I'm shooting something quick.
     
    snerkler likes this.
  25. Eloise

    Eloise

    Messages:
    1,060
    Name:
    Eloise
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Something really quick... like a labrador puppy unless there is food on offer?
     
  26. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    3,272
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Pretty placid today
     
  27. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    3,272
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
  28. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,974
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Mine's working, are you using CC?
     
  29. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,974
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Few shots of a jumping spider eating breakfast this morning. Can't believe it, never seen one of these before then see one two days running. These things are SMALL, about 4-5mm in length. Here is having breakfast, god knows how small the fly is :eek:
    These are pretty much 1:1 crops of 1:1 macro :eek:

    1.
    [​IMG]
    Breakfast. DSC_4781-Edit
    by TDG-77, on Flickr

    2.
    [​IMG]
    Breakfast.
    by TDG-77, on Flickr

    3.

    [​IMG]
    Breakfast.
    by TDG-77, on Flickr
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
  30. rob-nikon

    rob-nikon

    Messages:
    4,045
    Name:
    Rob
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I thought I would ask how long do D750's usually last after getting their first error code? I was out this morning and the first image taken came up with err in the viewfinder after taking it. The camera didn't lock up and it did take an image that was slightly over exposed but useable. I'm off to stay on skomer in a few weeks and it would be a pain if it failed whilst their. There isn't time to send it away for the shutter issue before going. I've been putting off sending it in until I actually had a problem, typically it comes up a few weeks before the skomer trip (being a solely photo trip and being stuck on the island for 2 days no camera wouldn't be as much fun).
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
  31. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    3,272
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Yup. Hey ho, I'm not going to go back a version can do manually the few occasions I dip into it.
     
  32. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,974
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Odd, mac or PC and which software version? I'm running Sierra on Mac.
     
  33. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    3,272
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I'm on latest Sierra and latest CC whatever they are (not on pc at mo) Seems to be a known issue reading that thread. They will update not at some point, at least mine has stopped crashing since the last update when syncing across multiple files, that was doing my melon in!
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
  34. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,974
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Odd that it works on mine then. You do mean if you got to HSL and click the little cross thing and then place this over a specific part of the image you can drag it up and down on the image to change saturation, hue etc don't you?
     
  35. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    3,272
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Yes. I'm sure it worked the other day for
    me and the update was a few weeks back? I'll have a look tonight, enjoying this weather
     
    snerkler likes this.
  36. snerkler

    snerkler

    Messages:
    9,974
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2017
    minnnt likes this.
  37. KitsuneAndy

    KitsuneAndy

    Messages:
    3,438
    Name:
    Andy
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  38. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    3,272
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
    KitsuneAndy likes this.
  39. minnnt

    minnnt

    Messages:
    18,422
    Name:
    David
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Not for me, the flare is ace. :D

    Toby, that little flash of green is really good.
     
    snerkler and KitsuneAndy like this.
  40. Turbo-G

    Turbo-G

    Messages:
    147
    Name:
    Grant
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    If you see the bug when you've selected saturation for example, I found that clicking onto one of the others (hue or luminance) and back again solves it.

    I'm sure it will be patched at some point.
     

Share This Page