Noob to forum and photography

Name
Alasdair
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi everyone
I'm a noob and would like your C&C on a photo of mine, I bought a cheap macro lens set from the bay (£10 from India)
and thought i'd give it a try today, It is a lens that you screw on the end of the lens, I had a quick try (the dog was getting to interested in some sheep in the next field) http://alasdairacott.bulldoghome.com/photos/BDRES/alasdairacott_bulldoghome_com/Daisy.jpg, so a quick PS and this is what I got, whats wrong and how can i make a better photo (I know i need to invest in something better than £10 for a really sharp photo) but all C&C is gratefully received.

First of all welcome to TP Alxxx :wave:

Secondly that's not a bad image to start with at all, it has a lovely style to it :)

I had a bit of a play with it as the only thing really that I could see it suffering if printed, was the sharpness of it, though you could well of wanted it soft :shrug:

Anyway it's seen below. All I did was Clarify 6, crop and resize to 800 pxls then a final sharpen. All done in paint shop pro photo x2 (you can download the free trial HERE if you want to try it).

Image4-1.jpg

Those little close up lenses are OK, and you can get some cracking images with them, so just persevere with them. The easiest way of using them is with manual focus combined with moving in toward and away from your intended subject, once you get the hang of that you'll soon produce some cracking stuff. But like I already said your first image is not at all bad, so you're half way there. You should have seen me using them for the first time when I had them on my Kodak :LOL: I was pulling my hair out!

Here are some other examples of what type of shots are possible with them: CLICK ME

Hi I'm sure that you will like here they are a nice bunch.