Northern Lights from a moving platform, how to?

Name
Ian
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi,

I'm a casual photographer, I've dabbled in star trails and the like but nothing serious, normally just snap away happily at things I see rather than do anything planned. However, this Sunday I've been given an opportunity to view the Northern Lights from an aircraft, the big bonus is that I'm the pilot and I've got the best seats in the house! I'm super excited about this as it's a rare flight to be sent on (there are quite a few of these flights a year but the crew bid heavily for them, I got lucky this time!) and I really want some photos remember it with.

My setup will be a Nikon D3200, standard kit 18-55mm lens and a remote shutter. I've also got a circular polarising filter I use in the day to reduce window reflections, I'm not sure if I'll need this as the reflections shouldn't be an issue at night (we dim all the internal lights, turn the external ones off). I'll have the camera on a Joby Gorillapod too, mounted to somewhere secure and safe in the cockpit.

I guess that the NL's aren't guaranteed so if we don't see them I'd like to get some stars photographed.

Any idea what's the best way to photograph? Aperture as wide as it'll go, but what ISO and shutter speed? Do you recommend long exposures or composite images of shorter exposures? Naturally the aeroplane may be a little bumpy at times, but at midnight at 40,000ft it should be quite good, but not ground good. I cannot expose for more than 5 minutes as I'll have to turn the aircraft (we fly a race track shape holding pattern).

Appreciate any help I can get from the pro's out there!

Thanks!

Not sure it's possible, even with a gimbal. You need the camera absolutely still.
You may be able to get some video