Off camera flash (with cord) on 5D3 problem - now sorted!

Edit My Images
No
I am a novice with flash and have a possibly stupid question. I have purchased a cord to use my 430EX II flash with my Canon 5D3, however I can't get it to work. I have 'enabled' the flash in the menu on the camera.It is not a Canon cord, but cost me around £50 and it does say it works with Canon and ex II systems.

I notice on the back of the flash that it is saying TTL as opposed to ETTL.(I know this is through the lens - I haven't tried it manually yet)

Can anyone point me to anything stupid I might be doing, or shall I take it back to the shop? I probably bought it a month ago, but this is the first time I've got round to using it.

Any ideas welcome

The flash should be saying E-TTL so it looks like the chord is not compatible.

Is it longer than the Canon one?

Thanks for reply Richard. I'm not sure how the length compares. It's curly so the full length is perhaps not all that useful, but I think the Canon one is the same.

I hadn't realised until I handed the money across that it wasn't the Canon one I was buying.I almost changed my mind, but thought I might be being picky. I'm hoping I can find the receipt, but it is my local camera shop so hopefully they will be helpful. I just wasn't sure if I was missing something obvious.

It's really not like me to buy without researching first :-/

The acid test is to put the flash on the camera and take a few shots with the flash firing, then remove the flash and connect the flash to the camera with the same settings and it should work too.

If not the cable est kaput

Yes there was no problem at all with the flash on it's own Jim. It was difficult to mount the cord on the camera and I did wonder if that was the weak link, but I tried several times and couldn't get it to fire once.