Olympus 35 RC Low Light Tips Required Please!

Edit My Images
Yes
I've recently purchased a fully refurbished olympus 35 RC which is a great little camera. The only problems i'm having are with regards to low light. I don't want to buy an external flash as i prefer taking street photos at night where discretion is preferred! Anyone got any tips on what film is best to use etc. etc. I also prefer shooting in shutter priority mode but any tips on using fully manual would be great.

I should also mention that this is my first ever film camera and i'm a total novice... so go easy on me! Thanks!

You could try some fast B&W film (eg Tri X or HP5) and then push process it.

Dave

Fast film is your answer. I think the 35RC has a max ISO of 800 which limits you a little. Shoot Tri-X or similar as @Tringa says, set at 800ISO on your camera and ask the lab to push one stop, or shoot a native 800ISO film. Colour options would be mostly Kodak Portra 800, or you could try shooting a 400ISO film at 800 when the light drops and processing normally. Most films can take one stop of under exposure.

Otherwise, if still not good enough for street photography at night, you might want to look for another camera that can shoot at 1600ISO or higher.
Edit - See here for what's possible with a 3200ISO film
https://www.casualphotophile.com/20...fastest-black-and-white-film-available-today/

Alternatively, use flash (look at Bruce Gilden or Martin Parr's work, both use flash for street photography)

Last edited:
Unless it's a very well lit city area I'm not sure that 800 speed film will be fast enough. You can buy Ilford Delta 3200 or buy HP5 and push it to 1600 or 3200. You would have to use the camera in manual and use an external meter or light meter app on your phone.

You would have to use the camera in manual and use an external meter or light meter app on your phone.