1. mikew

    mikew

    Messages:
    2,869
    Name:
    mike
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Need to sort a few things still but its coming together, 60mm macro

    [​IMG]P6090013 by electric.mike, on Flickr
     
    Phiggys and Bebop like this.
  2. mark.roper

    mark.roper

    Messages:
    147
    Name:
    Mark
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Trooping the colour today, the fly-by always flies over our house but still only just grabbed the camera in time, 40-150 f2.8 + TC1.4 fitted, didn't need the TC and actually got a bit too close for the first shot!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Ajophotog, Phiggys, Greytop and 6 others like this.
  3. Malfis

    Malfis

    Messages:
    564
    Name:
    Malcolm
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    With the E M1 ll I've been trying out my new 300mm f4 lens with the 1.4 t/c. (First time Hobby for me).
    This is a 100% crop at 300mm (840mm ff equiv.), and a different image to the one posted in the "birds I've seen today" thread.
    You needed binoculars to see this bird, it was barely a speck with the human eye.

    [​IMG]Hobby3 by Malcolm Fisher, on Flickr
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2018
  4. akr

    akr

    Messages:
    2,622
    Name:
    Al
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I really love my 60mm macro and em5. Away for the weekend, don't even notice it's there, and more importantly allow me to get out, take more and improve.

    [​IMG]Ant by alligator1975, on Flickr
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2018
  5. mikew

    mikew

    Messages:
    2,869
    Name:
    mike
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    First time out birding with the 40-150 and TC, had to use S-AF as C-AF needs fine tuning.

    P6100059.jpg

    P6100049.jpg
     
    Ajophotog, Phiggys, Bebop and 2 others like this.
  6. Malfis

    Malfis

    Messages:
    564
    Name:
    Malcolm
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  7. mikew

    mikew

    Messages:
    2,869
    Name:
    mike
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Yes i think i will, its just getting used to it only being half as long as the panny
     
  8. Bebop

    Bebop

    Messages:
    947
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I've really been enjoying playing with the Pen F. I've gone back to shooting RAW +jpeg so I can play with the creative dial. Not sure if the novelty will wear off, but it's a lot of fun. SOOC 180610083318-P6100142.jpg
     
  9. mikew

    mikew

    Messages:
    2,869
    Name:
    mike
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  10. mark4183

    mark4183

    Messages:
    1,196
    Name:
    Mark
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    So ive had the em5 mkii for a little bit now. Ive changed a few of the buttons to my liking and added a grip, not a battery grip but just a little grip to increase the size so i dont feel like im going to drop it. Alot of people moan about the menu, its very similar to my old nikon menu so no problems there haha. going to try back button focus soon, see what i think, used it all the time on the nikon.

    Heres some images since getting her (Olyvia) haha

    [​IMG]In the garden by Mark Lightfoot, on Flickr

    [​IMG]In the garden by Mark Lightfoot, on Flickr

    [​IMG]Hanging by Mark Lightfoot, on Flickr

    [​IMG]Flying Scotsman by Mark Lightfoot, on Flickr

    [​IMG]P5050093wm by Mark Lightfoot, on Flickr

    [​IMG]Random by Mark Lightfoot, on Flickr

    [​IMG]Roddles waterfall by Mark Lightfoot, on Flickr

    [​IMG]Family by Mark Lightfoot, on Flickr
     
  11. mark4183

    mark4183

    Messages:
    1,196
    Name:
    Mark
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  12. damianmkv

    damianmkv Uh oh, a fruit basket!

    Messages:
    5,722
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Very nice, Mark

    My p20 has arrived today ( thanks @Malfis ) - it comes to something when this is my heavy lens.

    Need to find a small cheap bag / pouch - I have a MM10 but there’s too much spare space in there....
     
    mark4183 likes this.
  13. Pete B

    Pete B

    Messages:
    435
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
  14. Carousels Spin

    Carousels Spin

    Messages:
    299
    Edit My Images:
    No
    A single processed photo from a day out at Anglesey Abbey, have a few more to do but saving them for a quiet night. This was taken with the 60mm macro.

    2308(screen).JPG
     
  15. goinggreynow

    goinggreynow

    Messages:
    503
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Having some issues with my newly acquired EM10 mark II which at the moment, are stopping me enjoying using the camera.
    Difficult to explain, but when taking a shot in M/S/A modes, the camera will sometimes hesitate when pressing the shutter button and then take two shots on the one shutter button press (this seems to be accompanid by a blurry EVF/screen). I have tried to replicate the issue but don't seem able to "force it to happen". Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't. I've tried M/S/A modes, Switching between AF and MF. I've turned anti shock both on and off. I'm in single shot mode. I've checked bracketing isn't on. I've tried searching on line and as far as possible, reading the manual. Any help would be very much appreciated.
     
  16. damianmkv

    damianmkv Uh oh, a fruit basket!

    Messages:
    5,722
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    What’s the shutter release set to ? Gears->menu C ( release )-> release lag time

    I’ve got mine set to short.
     
    maarten.dhaese likes this.
  17. damianmkv

    damianmkv Uh oh, a fruit basket!

    Messages:
    5,722
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    can anyone recommend a small case for e-m10 + P12-32 +P20 ? Needs to to fit the body and lenses quite snugly..
     
  18. Pete B

    Pete B

    Messages:
    435
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    What's the working distance on the 60mm at 1:1?
     
  19. mikew

    mikew

    Messages:
    2,869
    Name:
    mike
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    No idea :D

    I use it hand held and up to now have just got as close as i can, i think its 0.19m but thats only from reading the blurb.
     
  20. mikew

    mikew

    Messages:
    2,869
    Name:
    mike
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    40-150 and TC, i used pro capture but to be honest i would have been better without it.

    P6120057.jpg

    P6120073.jpg
     
  21. Phiggys

    Phiggys

    Messages:
    2,629
    Name:
    Phil aka Phiggys
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Just got back from Patterdale Friday night I was talking to one of the guys repairing one of the Jetty’s and he was telling me he had never seen the water level so low in the Lake District before.
    It made me smile seeing your first images as they were the two places we decided to skip with the low water.
    You captured some real nice images Thanks for sharing :)(y)
    I took my Oly and my Fuji and it was still lighter than taking my Nikon or Canon gear ! Pleased to hear you like theEM5 MKII :olympus: & :fuji:in fact anything photo related :)
     
  22. GreenNinja67

    GreenNinja67

    Messages:
    3,321
    Name:
    Terry
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Cheers Phiggys.
    Lovely place, can't wait to go back
     
    Phiggys likes this.
  23. GreenNinja67

    GreenNinja67

    Messages:
    3,321
    Name:
    Terry
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Put more on my Flickr too
     
    Phiggys likes this.
  24. Phiggys

    Phiggys

    Messages:
    2,629
    Name:
    Phil aka Phiggys
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Cracking capture I really like this shot ive not tried out the creative settings yet !
     
  25. Bebop

    Bebop

    Messages:
    947
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Fabulous - I usually get the back end of hover flies and never as sharp as this :)
    Thank you. It's surprised me how much fun they are to play with and so quick to dial in or out.
     
    mikew likes this.
  26. Skyline

    Skyline Emmet Brickowski

    Messages:
    3,368
    Name:
    Dave
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Olympus om-d e-m10 mark ii

    Can I cluster focus points or is it always one single point?
     
  27. Pete B

    Pete B

    Messages:
    435
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I'm defiantly thinking about the 60mm macro. I was playing with my Canon with the Sigma 105 macro and was missing the in viewfinder review.
    Put the Raynox 250 on my Olympus 75-300 and didn't get a shot in focus due to the narrow focus range, was trying to shoot bumblebees flying from flower to flower.

    I put the raynox on my kit lens 14-42, attached the ikkle flash, could I get the damn thing to fire, nope. Rechecked the manual, still wouldn't fire.
    Hmm, the shutter is in quiet mode, what if I turned off the electronic shutter? Well where was that in the in the damn manual, certainly not in the flash section.

    Going to hunt some more bees tomorrow. :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2018
  28. Pete B

    Pete B

    Messages:
    435
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    You should be able to.
     
  29. mark.roper

    mark.roper

    Messages:
    147
    Name:
    Mark
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Hednesford Hills Raceway on Sunday for the Oval Track Legends (a short oval formula my son competes in), and the first proper day out with the EM1 Mk2 (i.e. after I'd read the manual and configured a couple of presets for the kind of shots I thought I'd want to take)

    [​IMG]

    Some PP, bumped the clarity to make the car a bit shinier than it actually was and added a gradient to make the sky a bit more dramatic, but at least thanks to the articulating screen didn't have to lay in the dirt to take this shot!

    [​IMG]

    Through the fence, hence the blurred grid pattern, but 1/20th of a second shutter, and the car I'd intended to be vaguely in focus (the lead car) almost kind of is.

    [​IMG]

    Same again but 1/40th, and this time the horizontal wires of the safety fence are more noticeable than the vertical.

    [​IMG]

    Side-on, 1/60th and the horizontal wires are now a solid line, but the verticals are almost gone.

    [​IMG]

    And this is the winning car on the day, the first time in 7 years this guy had won a feature final.
     
  30. Skyline

    Skyline Emmet Brickowski

    Messages:
    3,368
    Name:
    Dave
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Any idea how I get the cluster points?
     
  31. Pete B

    Pete B

    Messages:
    435
    Name:
    Pete
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Well, with mine, once you have the focus grid up I press the info button, then use the up/down button to scroll through the focus point patterns.

    Use the small and group target settings, page 48 of the manual.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2018
    Skyline likes this.
  32. Skyline

    Skyline Emmet Brickowski

    Messages:
    3,368
    Name:
    Dave
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I can do that but even if all is selected it will still use just one point.
     
  33. AMcUK

    AMcUK

    Messages:
    181
    Edit My Images:
    No
    As above "OK" to get the Super Control Panel up, arrow over to the focus grid and "OK" again to select.
    Press "Info" and you can now cycle through face detect modes left or right and focus point size and grouping with up and down.

    If you haven't read the full manual - not the quick start guide - then you'll miss a lot of functions.
    There's an eBay seller called PDF-2-Print who will send you a spiral bound copy for a fiver - well recommended.
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/str/mobilephonemanualsandpccds/Olympus/_i.html?_storecat=16304426017
     
  34. Skyline

    Skyline Emmet Brickowski

    Messages:
    3,368
    Name:
    Dave
    Edit My Images:
    No

    Is it the same as this... http://cs.olympus-imaging.jp/en/support/imsg/digicamera/download/manual/omd/man_em10m2_e.pdf

    Page 48.

    Even if I set to all targets the camera with only focus on one single target. I was hoping in this mode it would use cluster points.targets.
     
  35. AMcUK

    AMcUK

    Messages:
    181
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Yup - I just find it easier to read on paper.

    Not sure I get what you want?
    If you reduce the targeting area down to say 9 squares, when you half press the shutter the camera picks the best contrast in that 9 square region and shows you the point it chose.
    Are you trying to get it to continuously choose from points within the area while half pressed until you fully press the shutter?

    I tend to choose a focus point on the touchscreen and move it around with the arrows if I need to.

    Incidentally I've just messed about with the S-AF and C-AF Tracking modes - the tracking seems a lot better on the Mkii than it was on the Mki - I should probably try that out properly at some point.
     
  36. Skyline

    Skyline Emmet Brickowski

    Messages:
    3,368
    Name:
    Dave
    Edit My Images:
    No

    Lets say for example I'm taking a picture of a Landscape in Scotland. Mountains, lake and so on. On a Sony A6000 or a Canon 7D I can half press the shutter button and 4 or 5 (maybe more) focus points will light up saying these areas are in focus.

    [​IMG]



    On the em10ii it will only light up one focus point even if all is selected.

    [​IMG]
     
  37. mikew

    mikew

    Messages:
    2,869
    Name:
    mike
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Ajophotog and Malfis like this.
  38. goinggreynow

    goinggreynow

    Messages:
    503
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Thanks for the reply.
    Have tried as you suggest and no joy.
    Still experiencing two images being taken with a single shutter press on an ad hoc basis. Have tried M/S/A/P and all are affected - I just can't predict when it will happen or work out why. Seems also to be accompanied by what I would describe as an imprecise shutter action. Sorry to be vague.
    Any other thoughts?
    Sadly, I'm already losing confidence here which is a real shame as it's a camera I so much want to like.
    Am starting to wonder if there is some issue with the camera.
     
  39. AMcUK

    AMcUK

    Messages:
    181
    Edit My Images:
    No
    OK now I understand what you're trying to do, none of my cameras have ever behaved that way and I'm not sure if the E-M10 Mkii can.

    Have you explored Focus Peaking to achieve a similar result?
    I set mine uop on the Fn2 button.
     
  40. AMcUK

    AMcUK

    Messages:
    181
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Are you getting two separate exposures or two recorded files? If it's the latter I'd try another card to be sure - perhaps it's a write error. If the former and you're sure you're not in a burst or bracket mode then it sounds faulty to me. Mine hasn't done anything like that since I owned it (Jan 18) nor my Mki in the previous few years.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice