opinions please, Baby shoot

Name
mark
Edit My Images
No
Hi All

well, now that I've read the new terms to the forum, I suppose I best upload some pics.

I don't think I've ever uploaded any of my images, as I've always been scared as an enthusiast that I'd get shot down by all the pros on here. Every weekend without fail, my camera is in my hand. I absolutely love photography, and since starting taking pics 5 years ago... I can see a progression (ever so slightly)

Anyway....

I was asked to take photos of my bosses 3 month old baby boy. 7am came, me + my camera + 1 sleeping/constantly waking baby = this. Opinions please as I'm very new to this still!

FB_IMG_1428001877936.jpg
View attachment 34473
View attachment 34475
View attachment 34476

I'm on my iPad so not too sure if they will look different on my Mac but the first one looks soft to me, I too am also not keen on the sepia tone but that's a personal preference :)
I like the last one but the baby's hand again is soft!

Baby photography is very hard so you didn't do that bad at all if you are new to it :)

You have no need to worry about posting. You have some lovely shots here and can see that with some little improvments they will get even better. Here is some cc from me.

Shot 1.
Lovely eye contact. The framing is a little off so I would crop in a little tighter on the left. It is a litte on the soft side.

2. The processing works really well here. The problem is the pose. The baby is lost in the blanket and his head needs lifting a little. Bringing the chin forward and use something to make sure the baby is a little above the blanket in the foreground. Just propping the babies own hand under hishead would have made this shot much better. Also lose the dummy, just wait for him to get a little deeper into sleep before you remove it.

The dof really adds a great mood to this shot.