Opinions please on football club supplying to papers

Edit My Images
Yes
hey all.

I posted back in August about a local non league club asking me to take match day pictures (for free) , I’m a novice and was happy for the practise, they did say the odd one may be in the local gazette paper and on their Twitter/Facebook, which I agreed to, as long as I was given credit.

Well fast forward a few months and they are in almost every week of the local paper (with credit), a little frustrating but no big deal, and I’ve just seen a two page spread in the independent sport section, not sure how wide spread it is ?

I do have the pages but not sure if I can post ???

Should I just accept it and be happy for the club and the press they are receiving or should I say something, I’m not rich and anything I get I save for more gear but it’s all practise which I need, even now I’m getting slightly better but I’d only give myself 5/10 maybe.

Opionions please ??

Last edited:
Well I don't know much about the situation as regards copyright, I would assume you have it as you took the pics. It is one thing to have them published in the local rag but an independant should pay for the use of your images.
Maybe Kipax can chirp in here as he is the sports expert.

It is one thing to have them published in the local rag but an independant should pay for the use of your images..

Not quite sure why your seperating the two.. they are both papers making money and local rags are usually owned by the far bigger companies anyway.. it's all the same and they should all pay..

Local rag.. pictures go with article... the person writing the article gets paid.. the person putting the paper together gets paid.. the people supplying the paper and printing gets paid... the tea lady and cleaner at the office get paid... Hell even the teenager delivering the papers gets paid... and the local rag makes money/profit ...

Last edited:
It depends on what your purpose was for taking and supplying the images.