polarize or not to polarize?

asd

Edit My Images
Yes
hi there

i am off to america on wednesday and will be takng my gear to photograph the grand canyon (and possibably death valley if im lucky!). i have a 17-40L on a 10D and have just bought a polarizer for it but will not have time to practice with it before i go. should i keep the lens hood on with the polarizer, and is there a chance of vignetting with this set up? i am new to landscapes and i dont want to balls up my pictures so any advice on camera settings (AV or A DEP?) can i ruin the photos with the polarizer?/ should i leave it off,

like usual i have left asking this question till the last minute. any advice would be most welcome

cheers scott

We are going in September...so make some notes :)

Yes, keep the hood on with the circ pol, but make sure you can turn the polarizer with the hood in place and the camera in position at your eye.

You'll see the effect given by the filter, so just turn it until you get the result your after.
It'll make a big difference to the clear blue skies in that area and create a more vibrant image.

You'll lose some of the light to the sensor.....2 stops i think, so be make sure your nice and steady.

As for settings.....me creative hit the M and see what you can do :)

I find when I use a polariser, my 350D compensates for the reduction in exposure and bumps it up. Therefore, the shots that look nice and polarised in the viewfinder, look nothing like that when viewing. Do you need to underexpose a set amount to stop it compensating? (using 'A' mode by the way)

Matt

thanks for that,will give it a go with the polarizer on ..cheers for the advice

feenster said:
I find when I use a polariser, my 350D compensates for the reduction in exposure and bumps it up. Therefore, the shots that look nice and polarised in the viewfinder, look nothing like that when viewing. Do you need to underexpose a set amount to stop it compensating? (using 'A' mode by the way)

Matt