B&W Portland Bill Lighthouse

Name
Jake
Edit My Images
No
Portland Bill on a particularly stormy December day, spent a lot of time trying to keep my filters clean from the constant spray.
Got a good soaking not long after taking this image.
Processed in Silver Efex 2.
Cheers.

Canon EOS 5D Mark III|24-105mm L|Lee Grad Filters|Haida Pro 2 Slim Ten Stop Filter

Portland Bill
by JRTurnerPhotography, on Flickr

. Nice conversion, Nice smoky seas, decent tones and you can you spent care on the image. I would say that it's cropped slightly tightly on the right - the furthest building is just in the image. The only other thing I would say is that I am led away from the light house out to the horizon due the the composition and the placing if the rocks which act as a lead in line. listen I'm no expert and doubt very much i would be able to produce anything close but that's just the way I see it.

I like this a lot the long exposure has given some nice movement in the sky and smoothed he sea out but not made it totally smooth and mist like which to me is a positive as I think that would have killed the image a little the conversion to B&W works with the effect of the long exposure to create a image that is really quite stormy looking, the exposure time and focus look great but I would be tempted to just up the clarity just a touch, too far would be unrealistic but I think about 5-10% would just give it that little bit more pop especially on the cliffs and the sky..

Matt

I like that a lot, my kind of image, works for me pretty much as it is, there's nothing there I would alter.

Now thats one great photograph.
I love Portland Bill, and you've captured the scene perfectly.