Beginner Quick portrait of my wife

Name
Steve
Edit My Images
Yes
Hi all,

I usually enjoy landscapes but having bought a softbox and a single flash last year and used them only once, I thought I'd have another go and see if I could improve at all. I've tried to study a little on lighting etc but think I need to spend more time on posing. I'm also new to post processing people so hope I've not over done this? I know the hair is messy, but it was a quick shot in a tv break :) Any pointers to improve would be great.

I had my flash behind to try to get a rim light that only partly worked and had a silver reflector in front of her.

Thanks
Steve

1) Colour

Karen by Steve Babb, on Flickr

2) Black and White

3) Colour

4) Black and White

Cool, you have a model at home!
I see two easy to fix problems in these:
• Some flair caused by the kicker —make sure that you position the kicker
so it will not throw light in your lens. If necessary, flag it.
• The ratios should be inverted —the kicker's light should be less powerful
than the main… use the flash in front and the reflector in the back

Last edited:
Like Kodiak I prefer the second image, and your model would probably look better if her shoulders were not rotated quite as much.

Lighting in 3 & 4 is definitely better for a female, being softer and without the deep shadows.

I also agree that the model should have been lit with the flash, and the reflecto used to provide the rim lighting.

All imho, of course. Lovely model so I hope we see some more of your work with her.

Nice first attempt :) A few suggestions, hope they help:

Start with one light, see what's going on and tweak - e.g. adding reflectors - later.