Sky-Watcher Star Adventurer

smr

Name
Joel
Edit My Images
No
Hi all,

Wondering if any of you have bought this mount? I purchased one today and hope to use it at the weekend, but have some questions...

Firstly, I am a total and utter newbie when it comes to astro photography, but not photography in general. Therefore I was wondering if any of you would be so kind as to help me out and offer some advice so that I can avoid any frustrations by not having the right equipment before setting out to do my first astro imaging by not being able to because I am missing certain gear. We are forecast for clear skies on Saturday night and I was thinking of having a first go then.

I have the following lenses and equipment - please could you tell me which lenses would work best for AP and which I should leave out.

My gear and lenses lenses are as follows:

Canon 80D DSLR
Remote Canon Shutter release
Manfrotto 055CXPRO3 Tripod
Manfrotto 3-Way Tilt Pan Head MHXPRO-3W

Canon 24mm f/2.8
Canon 50mm f/1.8
Sigma 105mm f/2.8
Canon 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6
Canon 55-250mm f/4-5.6
Sigma 150-600mm f/5-6.3

Do I need a good ball head instead of the 3-Way head I currently have?

If I want to take longer exposures to obtain more detail and better colours what would you recommend in terms of auto guiding ? There are so many options and I have no idea what would be suitable etc.. I have a laptop I could use for AP.

Do I need an intervalometer ?

I can't modify my Canon 80D as it's my only DSLR but in the future and if I pursue this hobby I could invest in another DSLR and have it modded, I started out with a 700D so know the older rebel series quite well.

Any advice greatly appreciated.

I'm not familiar with the tracker as I use a driven equatorial mount, but -
If you've never done any astro at all before you'll almost certainly get more pleasing first results using a short fast lens so tracking accuracy is not so critical and exposure times can be longer.