1. trevorbray

    trevorbray

    Messages:
    4,802
    Name:
    Trevor
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I’ve been shown how to turn exposure preview off on Fuji. I’ll try it later. Could/should solve my issue. (Just about to hit BIN on A73)

    I was going to use this issue as reason enough to order...
     
    Livin The Dream likes this.
  2. f/2.8

    f/2.8

    Messages:
    1,816
    Name:
    Tommy
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I tried one out in a local shop just before I bought the Sony 90mm Macro from the classifieds on here.

    It seemed spot on, all macro lenses are good really. You will struggle to find a bad one, for macro work though this is a bit short.

    For the same money or not much more you should be able to pick up a used Sony 90mm Macro though which is better built and has faster a.f for the odd time you might want to use it for something else other than macro.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
    rookies likes this.
  3. rookies

    rookies

    Messages:
    7,256
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Yup I like a good AF as I would use it for portrait sometime as I did with the canon macro I had
     
  4. trevorbray

    trevorbray

    Messages:
    4,802
    Name:
    Trevor
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Sorted. Exposure preview off.

    Damn. 1 less reason I can give for WANTing/NEEDing A73 to SWMBO.
     
    Livin The Dream likes this.
  5. rookies

    rookies

    Messages:
    7,256
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Shhh just slip one pass her. Won’t know the difference
     
  6. JJ!

    JJ!

    Messages:
    5,232
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I miss my little Samyang 35mm. I might have to get another one!
     
  7. rookies

    rookies

    Messages:
    7,256
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Not sure if this any good can’t make my mind up if too much ground

    [​IMG]Untitled
    by Andrew Rookes, on Flickr
     
  8. trevorbray

    trevorbray

    Messages:
    4,802
    Name:
    Trevor
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Might just do that..

    Looks just fine to me Andrew
     
  9. trevorbray

    trevorbray

    Messages:
    4,802
    Name:
    Trevor
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    If I get one (A7iii) I can only afford one lens to start. My most used focal length is 35mm. Siggy or Samyang 1.4 ? And why.
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  10. jonneymendoza

    jonneymendoza

    Messages:
    7,178
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Siggy. Same price but better qc and iq
     
    trevorbray likes this.
  11. rookies

    rookies

    Messages:
    7,256
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Is that a art lens
     
  12. jonneymendoza

    jonneymendoza

    Messages:
    7,178
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Yes it's a work of art mate
     
    rookies likes this.
  13. justa1972

    justa1972

    Messages:
    1,365
    Name:
    Justin
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Anyone here use the 24-70 f4 - is it as bad as the reviews say ?
     
  14. rookies

    rookies

    Messages:
    7,256
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    No
    No love mine. All images yesterday taken with it
     
  15. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    8,999
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Love these Andrew,
    all very atmospheric,
     
    rookies likes this.
  16. SsSsSsSsSnake

    SsSsSsSsSnake

    Messages:
    8,999
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    :eek::rolleyes:
    thought we'd been down the Sony route Trev?think youve got too much time on your hands :ROFLMAO:
     
    trevorbray likes this.
  17. simonbarker

    simonbarker

    Messages:
    1,928
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I think the complaint is not that it's a bad lens but rather with a RRP of £1050 you'd expect exceptional performance.

    I'm not sure how much sense it makes with the Tamron 28-75mm as an option, the Zeiss is smaller and can be found a lot cheaper used though.
     
    justa1972 likes this.
  18. justa1972

    justa1972

    Messages:
    1,365
    Name:
    Justin
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Yes thats it really - trying to find the best quality zoom lens with the lowest weight/size. The Tamron is a bit too big for my liking - even the 28-70 seems enormous to me !
     
  19. rookies

    rookies

    Messages:
    7,256
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Ouch price gone up?

    Mine was £850 at photography show
     
  20. rookies

    rookies

    Messages:
    7,256
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Keep meaning to ask should all these lens have a black bag as I’ve one missing I think

    24-70 f4
    85 1.8

    Both Sony
     
  21. rookies

    rookies

    Messages:
    7,256
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Just taken this out of window. Would of liked more of the trees at the bottom but couldn’t due to properties and having to crop them out.

    [​IMG]
    Untitled by Andrew Rookes, on Flickr
     
    CharleyBird and woof woof like this.
  22. trevorbray

    trevorbray

    Messages:
    4,802
    Name:
    Trevor
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Just GAS mate...maybe...

    Keep thinking that the mk3 will be a big leap from mk2...maybe...
     
    SsSsSsSsSnake likes this.
  23. mjScall

    mjScall

    Messages:
    526
    Name:
    Matt
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    I've just got the 85 1.8 and didn't get a bag. Unless I left it in the box :)
     
  24. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,208
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    24-70 does
    85mm/1.8 doesn't
     
    rookies likes this.
  25. rookies

    rookies

    Messages:
    7,256
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Thanks just couldn’t remember if it had or not but daft
     
  26. woof woof

    woof woof

    Messages:
    18,801
    Name:
    Alan
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I had an hour off today so of course it poured down. I got cold and soaked and so did the camera but it was nice to be out.

    A7 and Voigtonader 35mm f1.4.

    The end of the line.

    1-DSC02386.jpg

    [​IMG]

    Just trees and leaves.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Wet.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
    rookies likes this.
  27. Livin The Dream

    Livin The Dream

    Messages:
    4,080
    Name:
    Kris
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Does anyone actually use the bags?
     
  28. nandbytes

    nandbytes

    Messages:
    4,208
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    the pouch yes sometimes, the bag G master lenses come with - no.
     
  29. simonbarker

    simonbarker

    Messages:
    1,928
    Edit My Images:
    No
    You're not wrong, it's just the full retail price. Most shops have it at £750 now and I'm pretty sure around the time the Tamron came out there were a few places that had it as low as £550 with cashback.
     
  30. rookies

    rookies

    Messages:
    7,256
    Name:
    Andrew
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I might be wrong with my price lol without getting bill out
     
  31. mjScall

    mjScall

    Messages:
    526
    Name:
    Matt
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    As the body still hasn't arrived, can anyone tell me if it will be possible to backup my A7III to my phone over wifi whilst on holiday? Or failing that via USB

    I can then shift them from phone to a USB OTG drive, that's the plan anyway

    Got a trip planned in January and want to make sure i've got all the cables etc that I will need :)
     
  32. Raymond Lin

    Raymond Lin

    Messages:
    6,485
    Name:
    Raymond
    Edit My Images:
    No
    You can send photos to phone via app but only jpegs
     
    mjScall likes this.
  33. dancook

    dancook

    Messages:
    4,931
    Edit My Images:
    No
    I need a 2.4ghz wireless shutter control for the Sony A9

    I have the Pixapro 2.4ghz ST-III transmitter and receiver (receiver newly bought for this) but the supplied cables are incompatible - it would need a 2.5mm jack to micro USB-a, but even if I find somewhere to source it - I don't know if it'll work and so I'm thinking i'll send it back

    Don't want to buy the Meike Grip

    Any good solution?

    At the moment only the likes of this look promising, not cheap though.
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/AODELAN-Wireless-Shutter-Release-Control-Sony/dp/B078GL4Y32/
     
  34. jonneymendoza

    jonneymendoza

    Messages:
    7,178
    Edit My Images:
    No
    i would try sourcing a 2.5mm to micro usb a jack to see if it will work first before sending it back?
     
  35. dancook

    dancook

    Messages:
    4,931
    Edit My Images:
    No
    You can get them cheap from Hong Kong for £2.50... but might not turn up for a month and I need it for Monday :)

    i will look some more, if I can find somewhere, but if it arrives and doesn't work then i've lost time messing around
     
    jonneymendoza likes this.
  36. dancook

    dancook

    Messages:
    4,931
    Edit My Images:
    No
    Looks like my only option is
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/AODELAN-Wireless-Shutter-Release-Control-Sony/dp/B078GL4Y32/

    The cable I want, I can't find in the UK - in the US it's about $8

    Pocketwizards are expensive, I don't need them for my lights - and even once you've bought them, the cable for the Sony A9 shutter release is £35! That cable is 3.5mm jack not 2.5mm so no good for use with my Pixapro reciver.

    The playmemories mobile app works, but only up to about 10 metres - same as when I tried the Leica app for another camera.
     
  37. david357

    david357

    Messages:
    3,324
    Name:
    Umm......................
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    dancook likes this.
  38. woof woof

    woof woof

    Messages:
    18,801
    Name:
    Alan
    Edit My Images:
    No
    [​IMG]

    "I'm just sitting watching flowers in the rain
    Feel the power of the rain making the garden grow
    I'm just sitting watching flowers in the rain
    Feel the power of the rain keeping me good"
     
    trevorbray likes this.
  39. rob-nikon

    rob-nikon

    Messages:
    4,680
    Name:
    Rob
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Can someone please tell me how to turn off the LCD panel live View? Basically it’s bloody annoying when I look through the viewfinder then take my eye away from the viewfinder for the LCD to switch to live view. Basically I want the camera to work like a dslr- view through the viewfinder and switch on live view on LCD when required. I know there should be a setting somewhere in the menus but I just can’t find it!
     
  40. LeeRatters

    LeeRatters

    Messages:
    932
    Name:
    Lee
    Edit My Images:
    Yes
    Yes, a little too much ground imo, But, with the lovely light on it, it works well :)
     
    rookies likes this.

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice